Skip to content

Running Barefoot :-)

September 23, 2010

I never thought I would be saying those words! I decided to break in my Vibrams today with an easy run. My marathon training plan called for 4 miles, so I did a little over 2 miles in the Vibrams and 2 in my normal shoes. How WEIRD!! I loved the feeling of the Vibrams…minus a little hot spot I got on my big toe, but other than that, I felt that they were so easy to run in! I actually felt like I had a harder time running in my normal shoes! Can’t wait to try them out again 🙂 4 miles burned me about 380 calories 🙂

I started my morning out with a half of a banana and 1/2 tablespoon of Homemade Nuttzo. Yes, I am eating bananas again! I’ve decided that life is worth living 🙂 My post workout snack was the rest of the banana and a handful of walnuts (the superfood of nuts!)

My breakfast occurred a bit later and consisted of leftover oats from a day ago and some cantaloupe! Yumm…if you haven’t tried Tuscan Melon, you must do so now! It is so sweet, it’s like eating candy!

That tided me over for about 2 hours and then I ate my mid-morning snack: Spicy Turkey Wrap 🙂

I used one small corn tortilla, a couple slices of Columbus Turkey (99% fat free, from Costco, and GF!! Great deal :-)), and a bit of my Roasted Green Chili Dip. Perfect! I prefer to use Food For Life Brown Rice Wraps, but mine were covered in mold. Yuck.

Lunch was a big salad (so glad to have my veggies back!!) topped with Sweet Onion Peach Salsa, a drizzle of tahini, and a sprinkle of nutritional yeast.

Now I want to make a confession: Although I aspire to be a completely toned and muscular lady, I just don’t know that my body is destined to ever be that way. Yes, if I were willing to take supplements, diet pills, and other things, I could get there, but that is just not part of my lifestyle. I prefer to be natural; I like indulging in things like bananas (call me crazy!! Or bananas :-)) and I love running!

However, I would like to try a few things in my life:

– I want to get back into yoga. I want to do it at least twice if not three times a week…I loved how lean and long I felt in yoga and how healthy it made me feel (more to come on this).

– I want to try to spin and walk more. I feel that sometimes I have an unhealthy obsession with running and in fact, the more I’ve started running, the heavier I have become. This is because it really ramps up my appetite and it hits at weird times. I think that walking, spinning, swimming, and yoga would help me to lean out again (by lean, I don’t mean to insinuate that I am fat by any means, but I have gained and gained weight since college…mostly muscles, but also some fat). The leanest I have been since I graduated (I actually weighed less than I did in college,) was when I had eye surgery and could only walk and do yoga. It was amazing and I felt great:-)

Because of these feelings, I have decided that the bodybuilding diet is just not for me. It was nice to try it, but it just doesn’t fit my needs. I will return to my ways of primarily clean eating (with a bit of dairy and and soy and corn and nightshades…so maybe not allergen free clean, but pretty clean overall ;-)), and I don’t think I should feel bad about using a small amount of olive oil to saute my veggies. I don’t want to feel like I have to use Pam or sugarfree substitutes for everything. I like my culinary freedoms 🙂 Does anyone else feel this way??

Yoga, I’m coming back, baby! I really hope I can make my class tonight!!

What are your favorite workouts? What do you do for workouts and eating to ensure you feel your best?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2010 8:45 pm

    I am forever intrigued by and frightened of Vibrams. Have you been running in lightweight sneakers? I’m scared of the transition but I want some so bad!!

  2. September 23, 2010 10:36 pm

    Wow this post really hit home for me, I have been feeling the same way about running and the way it affects my body and appetite. Although I am loving the challenge of running more and going for longer distances, I also know that it cannot be my sole for of exercise. There is definitely a need to cross train and mix it up to keep yourself strong but also lean and toned. You have to do what makes you feel good body and mind and also feed yourself the things that make you feel good; not what a diet book tells you. Sounds like you are heading in the right direction!

  3. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    September 23, 2010 11:55 pm

    Psh-yeah! Listen to what your body tells you! When your on your death bed, would it really matter to you what you looked like? Or would you rather enjoy that extra banana or occasional scoop of ice cream 😉

  4. Maria @ Kale and Cupcakes permalink
    September 24, 2010 12:58 am

    I take a ton of classes at my gym, most of which are weight training – love feeling strong!

  5. September 24, 2010 1:05 pm

    Ah! Vibrams! My husband wears his EVERYWHERE — to work with his shirt/tie, to run, everything. He loves them. I haven’t gotten a pair for myself yet, we’ll see!

    Alyssa I think its great that you are switching up what you’re doing. I also would rather use real ingredients instead of sugar free (waldon farms!) stuff.

  6. September 24, 2010 1:50 pm

    Great thoughtful post!! I think it’s so important to tune in to what’s right for your OWN body… I’ve been influenced by success stories I’ve seen on other blogs (with running, certain kinds of diets and eating habits) but have ultimately come to the realization that for the most part I KNOW what works best for me, what makes me feel the best and – you said it just right – what keeps me lean (and mean 😉 ). I’ve noticed myself “bulking up” a little because of weight training and more protein in my diet, and the fact that I’ve let yoga slip in favor of doing strength instead. While strength has been really beneficial for me, I’ve also been noticing what I’ve lost since cutting way back on yoga – the long and lean and limber thing… and I don’t like it!! I really want to get back to very regular yoga, 3 x a week optimally… Maybe you’ll keep me inspired 🙂

    Whoa long comment! I was just feeling you on a lot of what you were saying. Also on the food thing – too many ‘weird’ food things (sugar free, super high protein, oil-free, etc.) makes me feel not so great. It’s all about getting back to the good natural basics!

  7. September 24, 2010 7:01 pm

    Yay for going back to yoga 🙂 and I just had a bowl of cantaloupe melon, it’s SO good.

  8. September 26, 2010 6:27 pm

    I have the same model and color Vibrams and I love them. I use them for sailing and other water sports. They are very comfortable on the sand and grass. I am hoping to begin barefoot running after my first marathon this November.

  9. September 27, 2010 2:42 pm

    I think Vibrams look so unique and funny but I really don’t like having things between my toes. I don’t know if I could take it!

    I am attempting to work yoga into my workout routine more and more. Right now I am shooting for at least once a week but more would be nice. I love how lean and strong and stretched yoga makes me feel.

    Right now I try and run about 3 times a week. I am trying to improve my running but I also want to become more toned and lean, so I know that I need to work strength training and yoga into my routine. And I know that my running with actually benefit from those things as well. It’s just a matter of finding things that work. I feel like my workouts are constantly evolving and changing. Defying every plan I try to put into place.

    Oh and I totally feel the same way. I am all about fitness and working out, being fit and lean and strong, but I’m also all about eating the foods I love and being healthy with a little indulgence.

"Musings" Welcome!

