Skip to content

Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts

September 22, 2010

Oh goodness…yes, I said bacon!

Hubby and I made this as another appetizer for game night.  I did not get the best pictures since we were rushed, but this recipe is such a hit and to die for!

Through the saran-wrap…sorry!

Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts

2 cans of water chestnuts, drained

1 container of bacon, sliced into thirds

pre-made barbeque sauce, for dipping

Directions: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Take 2 or 3 water chestnuts and wrap them in a piece of bacon, secure with a toothpick and place on a foil lined baking sheet. Bake for 25 minutes. Remove baked water chestnuts, dip them in the bbq sauce and place them back in the oven for another 20 minutes. Plate and serve!

Hubby and I were so excited to eat these!

A bit blurry, but you can tell that we were happy!

And check out my new outfit! I got this skirt at Anthropologie for $20! What a steal! And…it’s gold 🙂

Consensus? I loved it 🙂

Do you love bacon? Do you feel that it makes almost any appetizer/meal/dessert (Vosges Bacon Chocolate is AMAZING)?

What is the best deal you’ve ever gotten on a piece of clothing?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2010 6:20 pm

    I love bacon, but I really don’t eat much of it. Every once in a while Jason and I will have BALTs (thats a BLT with avocado!), but I really don’t buy it much.

    At a wedding we recently went to there were bacon wrapped scallops. They were by far one of the best things I’ve ever eaten!

    • September 22, 2010 6:51 pm

      I love bacon wrapped scallops, but these are a close second!

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

  2. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    September 22, 2010 9:43 pm

    Yum Yum!

    Once I went to buy a cute shirt, and it was $24.50. Then when I went to the cashier, she said I could buy another one on the rack for $.50!! Score!

  3. Maria @ Kale and Cupcakes permalink
    September 23, 2010 12:28 am

    Oh yes, bacon is definitely a fave in my book. I happen to be a flexitarian and eat meat very rarely but when bacon’s involved – I go to town! The husband would have more of it in the house if he had a choice! : ) Your outfit is uber cute!

    • September 23, 2010 1:06 am

      Aw thanks, Maria! I’m right there with you!

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

  4. September 23, 2010 7:51 am

    I love bacon – my parents still talk about how, as a kid, I would go to Kips Big Boy Breakfast Buffet and fill up my entire plate with bacon. It’s a wonder I didn’t have a heart attack as a 6 year old.

    I eat very little meat, but bacon is one of the few that makes the cut on occasion. It adds so much flavor to soups and beans.

    On the issue of water chestnuts, however, I have to disagree. I hate them!!

    • September 23, 2010 1:53 pm

      Michelle, that’s hilarious 🙂 isn’t it funny how much we enjoyed things when we were little and we cringe now! Sorry to hear about the water chestnuts, but at least you love bacon!

  5. September 24, 2010 4:16 am

    My friend works at a retail company and when they have sample sale, I’m there at the crack of dawn. I walk away with a big bag of clothes for really cheap. The clothes probably last me for the whole season or more.

"Musings" Welcome!

