Skip to content

“The Alyssa Monster”

September 20, 2010

Today, I had the privilege, or perhaps the horror, of experiencing the Alyssa Monster (coined from Holly’s Monster). It came up completely unsuspectingly…damn monsters! Always hiding somewhere…closet, pantry, inside people’s heads!

This is how it started. I woke up at 6AM and began to mentally prep for my looming fitness test at 8AM. Took my time getting ready and digesting my pre-test snack of apples and Homemade Nuttzo 🙂 I left the house approximately at 6:45 so I could get a head start, only to find that I couldn’t find my car keys!! Not now!

Finally located them after a momentary freak-out sesh, and made my trek to Starbucks, where the world was melting…complete disaster. The barista was getting orders wrong left and right and no one was helping her! I waited amongst 20 people for about 15 minutes until I gave up and stole someone else’s drink that was unclaimed. Soy?? I’ll take that, PEACE! Seriously, isn’t the appeal of Starbucks the speed at which the coffee is prepared? Though so…

Next, I left Starbucks and headed to work. It usually takes 25 minutes from my house to get to work, but today it took 45 minutes! I made it to the gym with 2 minutes to spare, at which point I was completely freaking out. I barely made it to the fitness test on time.

The first portion of the test is the height and weight. 68 inches, 128 lbs…nothing surprising, although I had hoped that I weighed less 😦 Oh well, I won’t lose much weight when I am gaining muscle! I’ll have to test my body fat percentage later. Next was waist measurement…I am normally measured at a 26 inch waist, but today I came in at a whopping 28 inches!!! WHAT!?!?! How did I gain 2 inches in my waist in the last 2 months!?! Especially when I have been feeling more toned? Out comes the Alyssa Monster, with her devious plans of starvation and calorie counting and obsessive weighing….great…just what I need! Turns out, I was always being measured higher on my iliac crest than I should be, so this measurement is actually fairly accurate. My second taping was a 27.5…better, but still discouraging. At this point, I was super nervous for the rest of the test…feeling like I had been deceiving myself, eating too much, not working out enough. I ended up maxing the test with 48 push-ups in 1 minute, 56 sit-ups in one minute, and a 10:03 1.5 mile run. But after all of that, I still kept thinking about my waist! Kept thinking about what foods I could cut out on a daily basis, or how I could revamp my diet. How do you get away from your monster?

Despite my plan to not eat for the remainder of the day, I was famished and feeling light headed, so I had my post-workout protein berry oats, and about 2 hours later, my steel cut oats with Homemade Nuttzo PF.

Later I snacked on my scrambled egg whites, HBEs, and La Croix.

Later Hubby and I met my mom and sis at a favorite Tuesday Night Hot Spot: Salsa Brava Running Club!

We did our 5K and then stayed for our discounted dinner. Blackened Mahi Taco is muy bueno! Plus, straight off of their GF menu!

I’m so exhausted! And, I’ve been sleeping more than usual…what is going on!?!?

Also, if you had a hotel room reserved for an event, and the event got cancelled but you were unable to cancel your room, would you drive to hours to stay in the room, or consider it a sunk cost?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. nikkionlunch permalink
    September 20, 2010 1:27 pm

    First off, boo to our monsters! It is so easy to mentally spaz out over things like that when something triggers us. The biggest thing is that you need to remember you are beautiful and that you look amazing! When I can hear my monster grumbling I make myself think over what I have eaten the past several days and take count of what was actually healthy and what wasn’t. It puts things into a much more realistic mindset to myself. I also try to consider the fact that I am going to have days where I might be more bloated than others. Lastly, I just try to tell it to ‘go away’ because at the end of the day, I have someone who loves me and who tells me and believes daily that I am absolutely beautiful. And frankly, I outta be believing that too, right?

    As for your hotel question: I would be tempted to make a night out of it if it wasn’t too much of an inconvenience to get to it. Sometimes it is fun to get out of the house and go enjoy myself!

  2. September 20, 2010 1:31 pm

    I’d go to the hotel and have a fun night 🙂

    Ugh, the monsters are the worst! It is amazing how one little thing grows in our minds and makes us start thinking crazy!

  3. September 20, 2010 2:11 pm

    Those “monsters” creep up on us all. They hit when you’re not even expecting it. I know I have to be vigilant or mine will strike and once she’s out, there’s not stopping her. It’s hard to get her contained again. And I know I don’t need or deserve her abuse.

    And neither do you.

    I think your fitness test sounds great. Good for you!

    Also, I would totally go and use that hotel room. Especially if it was a pet friendly hotel!

    • September 20, 2010 2:19 pm

      Holly, thanks for the kind words 🙂 Monsters are completely unnecessary ALWAYS!

  4. September 20, 2010 2:36 pm

    Hey, thanks for visiting my blog!! I definitely like yours, too 😀

    And don’t let the little monsters get you down!! Everyone has their days but the most important thing at the end of the day is not a waist measurement or scale reading but that you are healthy. Judging from what I have seen on here, you seem healthy so you tell those monsters to get packing! lol

  5. September 20, 2010 8:40 pm

    Girl you are seriously at the top of your game – your physical performance as tracked on this blog continues to blow my mind, day after day. Not only your kickass workouts, but your intense work schedule PLUS studying… I mean shoot, I look like a huge lazy slug compared to you!!
    If anything, the results of this test means you gained some gnarly strength and muscle and you’re even more toned than you already were! Really, though. I admire you enormously, and I will personally kick your monster’s butt for being such a pain. 🙂

    • September 21, 2010 2:36 am

      Lauren, you are the best blogger friend ever! I will do my best to spare you the effort of kicking my monster’s butt 🙂 Thanks so much for the offer. And you are most DEFINITELY NOT a lazy slug! Spin class is amazingly tough and I would have a heck of a time keeping up with you!

      • September 21, 2010 3:55 pm

        haha hardly, I’m sure you could kick my butt in spin! but my offer stands: I will fly out there and slap that monster’s butt, as needed. 😉
        xo

  6. September 20, 2010 11:24 pm

    oh no girl…YOU ARE PERFECT!!!!!

    But I totally understand. I try not to weigh myself to much because of these reasons you said…but every once in awhile I will check on it. And I freak out….my I do tell myself it is muscle because I feel more toned like you said. ugh. why do we let these things get to us??

    HUGS

    • September 21, 2010 2:37 am

      Aww you girls are awesome! Thanks so much for the sweet words. I just wish none of us let these terrible thoughts get in the way 😦 They are so wasteful and full of negative energy!

  7. Maria @ Kale and Cupcakes permalink
    September 21, 2010 12:57 am

    Love fish tacos! Looks like a really tasty day. I’d still drive to the hotel and find something to do around there – I love exploring!!!

    • September 21, 2010 2:53 am

      Maria, the fish tacos are my favorite! I was so excited to have them for dinner 🙂

  8. September 21, 2010 7:21 am

    I would drive to the hotel and make a fun night out of it 🙂

    Hey, I made the banana bread you posted a few days ago and will post it this week. Hope you don’t mind! 🙂

    • September 21, 2010 11:22 am

      No, that’s great! Hope it turned out well!! Just tag me in the post and i’ll come check it out!

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

      • September 21, 2010 1:54 pm

        I’m the WORST baker but these were a success 🙂 I’ve tagged you and the post will be published on Thursday.

        Thank you for the inspiration!

      • September 21, 2010 2:20 pm

        Thanks, Anne! Glad it worked out!!

        Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

"Musings" Welcome!

