Skip to content

Homemade Nuttzo PF

September 19, 2010

So, I’m not sure if I mentioned this, but I was formally refused a sample of Nuttzo. Yes, they denied me and denied me again. I tried with a different name and a different email. Nothing. They had already determined their blog partners and they were not interested.

Well, lucky for me, I won Holly’s Nuttzo giveaway! I was able to taste Nuttzo without having to pay an arm and a leg. However, after tasting Nuttzo, I must attest…it was just as good as it is marketed 😦 As I am extremely stubborn, I decided that I would make myself my own personal brand of Nuttzo!

It turned out beautifully, almost a whipped consistency. The recipe is almost the exact same ingredients, give or take a few. I promise, you will not be disappointed by this recipe!

Alyssa’s Nuttzo PF (they can’t deny you this!)

1 cup salted cashews

1 cup walnuts, raw

1 cup almonds, raw

3 tbsp chia seeds

3 tbsp ground flax (whole seeds would work too)

3 tbsp psyllium husks (great source of fiber)

Directions: Place all ingredients in your food processor. Blend! Scrape the sides and devour after the mixture is blending smoothly and freely.

Enjoy!

31 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2010 3:33 pm

    Hehe, good girl for making your own Nuttzo! πŸ™‚

  2. September 19, 2010 4:10 pm

    It looks like the real deal Alyssa! πŸ™‚

    • September 19, 2010 6:37 pm

      Holly, it tastes really closeto the real thing too!

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

  3. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    September 19, 2010 5:13 pm

    I’ve never tried Nuttzo before either, but it looks rather interesting! Maybe I should try your recipe first!

    • September 19, 2010 6:37 pm

      I would try my recipe first πŸ™‚ its much cheaper!

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

  4. Natalia permalink
    September 19, 2010 5:46 pm

    Ah! Thank you Alyssa! I cannot wait to try this mix when I go home this coming weekend (where my little food processor awaits our reunion).

    Hope you had a great weekend =)

  5. September 19, 2010 11:54 pm

    Good for you Alyssa! Looks and sounds delicious – I’m sure I couldn’t tell the difference! πŸ™‚

  6. September 20, 2010 2:07 am

    I’ve never heard of the Nuttzo line before, but looking at that ingredient list… I may have to make a batch for myself!! This looks right up my alley.. my alley of deliciousness that is, Haha!

    • September 20, 2010 3:20 am

      Nuttzo is delish, but extremely overpriced in my opinion! Let me know if you try the recipe!

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

  7. September 20, 2010 2:02 pm

    Hmm. I could easily get those nuts at my farmers market… Then all I would need would be chia seeds and psyllium husks.

    • September 20, 2010 2:18 pm

      Holly, your natural food store should have both. I got both of mine in the bulk section of Natural Grocers πŸ™‚ I know that Whole Foods should also have them!

      • September 20, 2010 3:31 pm

        I’ll have to check out our local natural foods store! Unfortunately we don’t have a Whole Food nearby. Sad face!

      • September 20, 2010 3:40 pm

        😦 So sorry to hear that! I’m waiting for the day I don’t have the conveniences of organic grocery or natural foods stores! I will have to adapt and overcome!

      • September 20, 2010 7:38 pm

        Thankfully our Giant has a really nice natural food section. Even if we didn’t have a local natural store, we’d get along okay.

      • September 20, 2010 8:34 pm

        Lucky you!

        Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

  8. September 21, 2010 5:00 am

    Alyssa, what brand of psyllium husks do you use? I’ve tried getting it before and got confuse because they come in pill form with powder in them and also I saw a psyllium husks powder container?

    • September 21, 2010 11:24 am

      Lea, mine was in bulk at the natural food store. No pills, just the husk!

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

  9. Sandi permalink
    January 16, 2013 6:46 pm

    I’ve been dying to try the peanut free Nuttzo but I just can’t bring myself to spend $18+ on a jar of nut butter. I’ll have to try this recipe! Thanks! πŸ˜€

    • January 16, 2013 6:48 pm

      I hope you like it! I was able to get a free sample of the “real” Nuttzo, but yes, I refused to pay that much per jar! Enjoy πŸ™‚

  10. Reba permalink
    January 24, 2013 10:54 pm

    Just saw this at Sprouts for over $$$ 12/jar…. Gotta order those husks.

    • January 24, 2013 11:02 pm

      Glad you didn’t buy it!! Give this recipe a try πŸ™‚ thanks for stopping by!

  11. Reba permalink
    January 31, 2013 5:11 am

    Just stumbled on some husks in the bulk section of a local market. SO excited to try!!!

  12. Reba permalink
    January 31, 2013 11:00 pm

    I forget that processing nuts takes a bit in the Crusinart processor. It seems a but dry and I was tempted to add water or some oil but just kept stopping periodically to scrape the sides. Like magic and patience it turned smooth w/o adding liquids. The flavor is good but the texture is a little crunchy. Were the chia seeds supposed to be soaked?

  13. reba permalink
    February 1, 2013 1:41 am

    okay. I will give it time to soak before testing it again. i was so excited to taste it. How do you use Nuttzo as a spread? in baking? Now that I have these husks how can i use up this package in my regular cooking/baking? I have pinned a bunch on pinterest but i’m always open for suggestions/tips.

    • February 1, 2013 12:17 pm

      I love using Nuttzo as any nut butter! On bananas, stuffed in dates, on GF toast, in baking, you name it :-). Psyllium husks are great for added fiber. I think you can use them as you would Metamucil by mixing it in drinks, etc. I also add it to my baking mixes for extra fiber…I think it helps hold everything together πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. One Of Those Days « Self-love and Running

"Musings" Welcome!

