Skip to content

Pill Popper

September 18, 2010

Today.was.so.slow! I even got to work later than normal! Oh well…I got through it 🙂

While walking with my mom the other day, we got to talking about vitamins. I stopped taking vitamins for a very long time, almost a year, because a friend of mine mentioned that they were really hard on your tummy. I was desperate at the time, so I stopped taking them altogether.

I just recently started taking supplements again, but when I went to take them today, I was a bit taken aback…check this out

Yea, that’s what I said. I went from over the top with multivitamins and prenatals to over the top with supplements, what gives?!

Although, everything has a purpose:

Fish Oil- heart health, fat burning, hair, and nails

L-Carnitine- metabolism booster, fat burner

Milk Thistle- liver cleanser

St John’s Wort- mood elevator

Kelp- iodine supplement, energy booster

Vitamin C- boost immunity

Super B Complex- energy booster

Seems a little excessive, right?

On to the day, got up at 6AM and ate my pre-workout protein oats. Ran 5 miles at the gym and burned about 380 calories. I had a steady appetite today and ate all my meals except my last one…just wasn’t hungry, of course, I then became starving as soon as I got to Costco! Don’t you love how you tend to get hungry as you get to the grocery store? I did a fairly good job on impulse buying though…I went for the Tuscan melon. So good!

Got home and was surprised by a HUUUUUUGE package!

A full box of Food Should Taste Good Chips! Like 12 bags!!! Along with this note:

Umm, Andrea? You are completely forgiven for the delay! In fact, I wasn’t even expecting these 🙂 Does anyone feel like a giveaway?? 🙂 Thanks FSTG! You guys are AWESOME!

Dinner was simple: baked turkey tenderloin, steamed spinach, boiled corn, and baked sweet potatoes. So full of flavor!

I had 3/4 cup sweet potato, 1 ear corn, 1/4 cup steamed spinach, and 5.3 oz of turkey. I was stuffed!! I think I need to cut my sweet potato intake down a bit…they seem to really fill me up fast 🙂

What is your philosophy in terms of supplements? Do you take vitamins? How many are too many?

What does your plate look like? Do you eat mostly veggies, more protein, or more complex carbs?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2010 8:02 pm

    Yeah-supps and vitamins can be a controversial subject.
    Ideally we should get what we need from whole food. But there’s always room for deficiencies.
    Personally I have to take D3 because I am/was severely deficient. I could get it from food, but I can’t drink milk and won’t eat liver.
    VEGGIES….my plate is usually about 80% veggies with the rest being gluten free grains, and some meat….tummy doesn’t handle more than an ounce or 2.
    Sooooooooo are those FSTG chips gluten free? 😉

    • September 18, 2010 8:18 pm

      Heather, i agree on the supps. And yes, the chips are GF!!

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

  2. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    September 18, 2010 10:54 pm

    Well…I agree with Heather, ideally, in a perfect world, we would be able to get all of our vitamins and minerals from food. But now the earth is so depleted (soil i mean) that we can’t! I take a raw food multi, and a d3 in the morning. I, as most people, was severely deficient in the d’s as well.

    I also take an amino acid supplement, because protein is key! Check it out: http://www.bodyhealth.com/html/biobuilde/

    Also, I drink a teaspoon of cod liver oil every night (CArlson’s lemon is very high quality, and it tastes like a melted lemon drop!)

    Then, I take iodine drops and vitality C every morning, too.

    Then, I take Magnesium Calm and L Tryptophan before bed. (to calm me down because I have trouble sleeping sometimes..)

    But yeah….Dinner looks nummy!

  3. September 19, 2010 8:37 pm

    ah, supplements, oh yes it would be great if we could get everything from food, but with the way society is these days, everyone seems deficient in something. Although there are some out there that will say you do not need supplements, but my thing with supplements is that people are taking them for the right reasons, not as a substitution for good wholesome food. Supplements are just that to supplement one’s diet.

  4. September 20, 2010 2:00 pm

    I only take a prenatal vitamin and calcium supplements. That’s it!

    As far as what my plate looks like… that tends to differ from day to day! I try to eat a lot of veggies and whole grains but we also tend to indulge a little in sweets.

    • September 20, 2010 2:17 pm

      Holly, good on limiting the supplements. Have you heard anything about prenatals being bad for you unless you are pregnant or trying to become so? That is why I stopped taking them…heard they were hard on the body…I’d be curious to hear what you have heard!

      A little indulgence here or there is good for the soul!!

"Musings" Welcome!

