Skip to content

Banana Bread Intervention

September 17, 2010

Inspired by Momma M, I decided it was time for some banana bread of my own! Having about half of the ingredients, I decided to improvise a bit 🙂 Since I was improvising, I decided to be creative!

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Banana Bread 🙂 I kid you not!

While this is not 100% healthy, I would say that it is fairly healthy for a dessert type bread.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Recipe inspired by Momma M

3 bananas mashed

1 cup sugar

1/4 cup butter (I used Earth Balance), melted

1/2 cup canola oil (recipe called for 1 egg…didn’t have it!)

1 cup GF Baking Flour

3/4 cup Peanut Flour (16 g of protein per 1/4 cup!)

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

6 oz dark chocolate, chopped

Directions: Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Combine ingredients into a mixing bowl and mix until thoroughly combined. Lumps of banana are ok, lumps of unmixed flour are not 🙂 Pour mixture into a greased loaf pan and bake for 1 hour and 30 mintes. Remove from oven and let cool. Enjoy!

Hubby had the bread straight up 🙂

I had mine a la Siggis!

Plus naner bread and 1/2 T nut butter equals…

Nirvana.

I’m sure Buddha would agree 😉

Have you ever twisted one of your classic recipes to make something even more exciting?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    September 17, 2010 9:25 pm

    I just made choco-chunk banana muffins yesterday (sugar-free of course! And totally 100%dark chocolate), and am eating them while I read your post! Banana+chocolate=heaven.

  2. September 18, 2010 3:39 am

    We love banana bread with chocolate chips, actually have some in the freezer…freezer I go ; )

  3. September 18, 2010 3:29 pm

    This sounds so super easy, I have to try and make this at home. I’ve never had banana bread in my life!*gasp*

  4. September 19, 2010 2:17 am

    I just commented on another blog about how banana bread is one of my favorite foods and I haven’t had any since I stopped being able to eat gluten. I have been looking for a GF recipe so I am going to try this? You don’t have to use xanthan gum?!

  5. September 19, 2010 11:55 pm

    Oh. My. That looks delicious!!

  6. September 21, 2010 11:10 am

    AH this sounds amazing! I made banana bread recently but only with sunflower seeds added in. Yours sounds so much better. 🙂

  7. October 4, 2010 4:20 am

    MMMMmmm, I want to eat a big piece of this and then rub my Buddha belly! Sounds delicious Alyssa. You should add this one to your recipe page as I didn’t see it on there.

Trackbacks

  1. Food Loving Polar Bear | Sick Leave = Lots Of Time In The Kitchen

"Musings" Welcome!

