Skip to content

OIAJ, Never Gets Old!

September 16, 2010

Seems that I am simultaneously running out of nut butters! Love it! This morning’s breakfast:

To be honest, this jar was not ready for OIAJ, but I wanted it so bad that I decided to use Heather’s trick of transferring jars 🙂 Great trick!!

After scooping a spoonful of peanut butter into my pecan butter jar, I added the following to my peanut butter jar:

– 1/2 c steel cut oats

– 1/4 c almond milk

-1/4 c apple sauce

– 1/2 banana

– 2 tbsp cottage cheese

And topped it with Emily’s Jam!

Thanks to Kath for the idea of cottage cheese in my oats! Great texture and flavor!

Ever tried OIAJ? Or even better, cottage cheese in your oats?

Also, be sure to check out Alex’s CSNSTores Giveaway! Alex, my favorite food is posted above 🙂 Also, Nikki is hosting a Maranatha Sunbutter Giveaway! 2 people can win!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. nikkionlunch permalink
    September 16, 2010 7:07 pm

    Yum that looks very tastey. Great idea on adding the jam to it!

    Thank you SO much for posting my giveaway, girl!

    Have a great day!

    • September 16, 2010 7:14 pm

      Not a problem, Nikki! Thanks for your comments and thanks for HOSTING a giveaway!! So excited for you 🙂

  2. September 16, 2010 8:56 pm

    I’ve never done OIAJ as gluten free oats just haven’t fit into my budget yet….a bit pricey.
    It always looks so good though! I do have a special breakfast bowl that I’ve used every morning for 3 years for my rice farina and nut butter concoction 🙂

    • September 16, 2010 9:39 pm

      Heather, I can understand the pricey-ness of the GF oats! They do rack up the cost! Bob’s Red Mill has some that are somewhat reasonable though, around $5-6 a bag? Breakfast bowls are crucial to the taste 🙂

  3. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    September 16, 2010 11:26 pm

    Oh yeah-that is the exact peanut butter I have!!! I just went to costco to get another case:) it is seriously the best (and pretty inexpensive, too!)

  4. September 17, 2010 12:33 am

    OIAJ are everywhere and they seem incredible. I think tomorrow’s breakfast may be an epic combination of OIAJ and pumpkin oats… I don’t even know if I can handle it 🙂

  5. September 17, 2010 3:27 am

    I have tried cottage cheese in my oats and I like that it adds protein but I still prefer egg whites over it though, because of the texture.

    • September 17, 2010 3:48 am

      Lea, I have yet to try egg whites, but I’m sure they are great 🙂 I love the texture of cottage cheese because it reminds me of rice pudding 🙂

  6. September 17, 2010 2:32 pm

    Ooo I have always wanted to try the cottage cheese-oatmeal trick, since I saw one of my housemates in college do it all the time (and she was a gnarly and amazing athlete). And applesauce too – GREAT IDEA!!

    • September 17, 2010 3:22 pm

      Lauren, I expect to see this in your next Secret Ingredient Oatmeal Post!!! Imagine peanut flour, applesauce, and cottage cheese…um…delicious!

Trackbacks

  1. Water Cravings & Blog Love | The Couch Potato Athlete

"Musings" Welcome!

