Skip to content

Double Date :-)

September 14, 2010

My sister has just moved to Colorado! How exciting 🙂 I invited her and her boyfriend over for dinner with Hubby and I.  She brought her DSLR camera and I had a blast with it! Check out the photos!

Our appetizer plate 🙂 Doesn’t it make you just want to dive in! So clear!

Trying to be artsy 🙂 We had a GF Salami coated in Herbs de Provence, Brie, Aged Gouda, Smoked Gouda, and some Crunchmaster Crackers! Definitely delicious 🙂

Had fun with the camera waiting for dinner and digesting the appetizers!

Rach and Colin

Me and the Hubs 🙂

Dinner!

What was dinner you might ask??

FROGMORE STEW!!!  This recipe was inspired by Runner’s World with a couple twists A La Alyssa 🙂

Frogmore Stew

1 large onion, chopped

1 can roasted/stewed tomatoes

1 tbsp garlic, chopped

2 cans corn

1/4 cup Old Bay Seasoning

7 Amylu Mango Chicken Sausages

1 lb shrimp

Directions: Throw everything but the shrimp into a crockpot, turn on low, let it cook for 6 hours 🙂 Add in shrimp about 10 minutes before serving. Serve over a bed of brown rice or just plain as a stew.

SOOOO GOOOD! It was a hit with all of us 🙂

Yum!

Dessert consisted of dates with nut butter. Hubby and I split them 🙂 Back to the point and click cam…I miss the DSLR!

The Trinity: Peanut, Almond, and Pecan Butter 🙂

Speaking of Trinity, did anyone see the last episode of Dexter Season 4??? OMG!! I was devastated!!!

What is your favorite one pot meal?

Don’t forget! Last chance to get in your entries for the Garlic Gold Giveaway!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 6:42 pm

    Dexter is one of my favorite shows, and no I could not believe the finale of the last season! I remember just walking around the house thinking to myself “that didn’t happen, no way, everything will be ok, etc”. It was awful!

    Dates + nut butter is the best dessert ever!

    • September 14, 2010 7:22 pm

      Holly, im right there with you! Im petrified for season 5! How will it ever work?!? Dates and nut butter are heaven on earth 🙂

  2. September 14, 2010 7:05 pm

    awww-you and your sister have the prettiest freckles!! love them!
    my fave one dish meal=chili. by far 🙂

    • September 14, 2010 7:21 pm

      Aw, thanks Heather! They are natural 😉 chili is one of my favorite one pot meals as well!

  3. September 14, 2010 7:17 pm

    Ohh man .. husband and I aren’t caught up to season 4 yet of Dexter — so excited now!

    • September 14, 2010 7:20 pm

      Katie…i don’t know if i should tell you to be excited or to brace yourself! I will say i was so upset and in fact angry for several days!

  4. Anita permalink
    September 14, 2010 10:44 pm

    do you make your own pecan butter? I’ve never seen it in stores?

    • September 14, 2010 10:58 pm

      Anita, I have not made my own pecan butter, but it would be super easy! Pecans, food processor, blend!

      The pecan butter I have is from Artisana. They do make some and it is quite tasty 🙂

      Welcome to GF Muse!

      ~Alyssa

  5. Anita permalink
    September 14, 2010 11:41 pm

    thanks for your quick response regarding the nut butter. I’m definitely going to try the stuffed dates. R the mango chicken sausages spicy? I think you are a genius and love your blog.

    • September 14, 2010 11:50 pm

      Aw, thanks Anita! No, the chicken sausages are not spicy at all. I can guarantee you will love them 🙂

  6. September 15, 2010 12:52 am

    Yummy crock pot dinner! And your trio of dates… oh wow.

  7. September 15, 2010 5:38 pm

    What a fun time!! Food looks great!!

    We love making our one pot mac-and-cheese using quinoa 😉

  8. A Side of Simple permalink
    September 15, 2010 8:20 pm

    That appetizer plate looks sooo good!

  9. September 16, 2010 2:26 pm

    I love one-pot meals! My favorites use the crockpot. I love roast with potatoes and carrots and chili. Yum!

"Musings" Welcome!

