Skip to content

Day 14: Homework!

September 5, 2010

I woke up today bright and early and ready to start my homework! No big deal, 9AM until 2PM…my whole day!!

I had breakfast of Creamy Buckwheat cereal with some of Artisana‘s Pecan Butter. So good!

Mixed with Cashews for ultimate creaminess!

Had a nice smoky, nutty flavor!

Topped it with a bit of almond milk to make it super creamy!

Halfway through my homework, I was starved for my next meal.  A repeat of yesterday:

2 HBE, 1/4 block of tofu, and Walden Farms Chipotle Ranch!

Finished my HW around 3:30PM and hoped to get to the gym, but Hubby and I had tons of errands to run! Ended up getting home at 6:30PM and I got to cooking dinner 🙂

Ever seen a Chayote Squash?

It tasted like a mix of a squash and an apple! We really liked it!

Bacon wrapped turkey tenderloin, brown rice with roasted green chile and scallions, steamed broccoli, and sauteed Chayote Squash!

Here is the recipe I used for the squash:

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 chayote squash, cut into 1/2-inch strips
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (I omitted this)
  • ground black pepper to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon white sugar (I used Agave Nectar instead)
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar (I used Apple Cider Vinegar)

Directions

  1. Heat olive oil in medium skillet over medium-high heat. When oil is hot, add garlic, squash, salt, pepper, sugar, and red pepper flakes. Stir together and cook 2 to 3 minutes.
  2. Add vinegar to the squash mixture and cook 2 to 3 minutes longer, until the squash is slightly wilted, but still firm and crunchy. Taste, and add more salt or sugar if needed.

What is the last weird veggie/fruit you have eaten?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2010 7:30 pm

    I like chayote squash too…something different and fun!

    Hope you having a great weekend!

    • September 5, 2010 9:18 pm

      It kind of has an apple taste to it 🙂 hope you had a great weekend too!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. September 5, 2010 7:39 pm

    Never had that kind of squash, although I did just cook an acorn squash for the first time yesterday. Yum!
    The last “weird” fruit I had was…..goji berries.

    • September 5, 2010 9:18 pm

      Acorn squash is great! Kabocha is my all time fave 🙂 never had fresh gojis, but dried are definitely interesting!

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. September 5, 2010 10:04 pm

    Chayote squash sounds interesting! I love squash. When you say it was kinda apple-y, was it sort of sweet, too? Sounds really yummy, either way!

    I feel silly complaining about my busy days when I see how much you pack into a single day, AND you cook a delicious dinner at night, too. I really admire that!

    I have a question about that buckwheat cereal, if you don’t mind. Is it like, regular buckwheat groats, but in smaller pieces? I’ve never seen it before in the store, and I love buckwheat, but I’m not so keen on waking up extra early to wait 10-15 minutes for it to cook. I wonder if I ran my kasha through a food processor for a few seconds, if it would have the same effect?

    The closest thing I’ve tried to a “new” fruit or veggie, to me at least, is zucchini. Honestly, I don’t think I had ever tried it before a month ago, and now I can’t get enough of it. 😀

    • September 6, 2010 12:34 pm

      Kaz, the buckwheat is like crushed kasha. I think it would work if you processed yours.

      Chayote was crisp, slightly sweet, and an interesting texture. You should give it a try!

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. Lisa permalink
    September 6, 2010 3:56 am

    Love squash so much! haha, kabocha is definitely my favourite but I love pumpkin too!! hows the buckwheat cereal? i tried kamut flakes this morning and adored them!

    • September 6, 2010 12:30 pm

      The buckwheat cereal is pretty good, especially if you eat it right away. Not so good to make it in bulk! Kabocha is delicious as well 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. September 6, 2010 3:58 am

    Hey girl – I gave you an award on my blog! check it: http://wp.me/pZLfg-hy

    Never seen that kind of squash! Dinner looks great though. And well done on the serious homework sesh!!

    x

"Musings" Welcome!

