Skip to content

Rice Bistro

August 27, 2010

I was sooooo hungry by the time we got to dinner with our family friends, Debby and Dave.  We shared pictures of our recent vacations to Glacier and England. Lots of fun to see where they went! By the time we got to dinner, I wanted everything on the menu. And lucky me, most of the menu had GF stamped right next to it! (Little did we find out later that apparently you have to request that the dish be made GF…oops)

pardon the photos…the lighting made it very tough!

We ordered Lettuce Wraps with chicken, edamame, and rice wraps for appetizers.  All said GF on the menu, but after I had devoured them, the waitress (whom I did not care for) tells us that you have to request the dish be made GF…yes, I have been contaminated…sad story 😦 I feel ok for now, but my tummy is feeling a bit funny…I will let you know if I get any other reactions! (I did…tummy ache and headache!)

Lettuce wraps!

Rice wraps, sooo good!

Regardless, the dishes were FANTASTIC!  Dinner was an order of salmon nigiri, spicy tuna roll, and Hubby ordered the massaman curry with beef and brown rice.  For some reason, the dish tasted like sour laundry smells.  We finally figured out that it was the brown rice that was funky.  We asked the waitress if we could essentially get a new bowl of brown rice because it smelled weird…this same ridiculous waitress that neglected to explain the intricacies of the menu then attempted to argue with us by saying that no other customers had issues with the rice and then made a very peculiar face.  Rule No. 1 of restaurant etiquette…NEVER ARGUE WITH THE CUSTOMER!!!  Hubby then said, you can smell it if you want, it smells sour.  SHE THEN PROCEEDS TO STICK HER FACE IN OUR RICE BOWL TO SNIFF IT!!  After that, she actually tried to hand the bowl back to us and said it smelled fine!! Crazy woman. I told her, it doesn’t matter if you think it doesn’t smell, it smells to us, can we have a new bowl? She then says, it all comes from the same rice cooker…we gave up and decided that tipping her 10% might have sent a better message 🙂

Best sushi I’ve had in a LONG TIME!

Massaman 🙂

Fried rice!

All in all, the food was great and I would to go back, but I DO NOT WANT THAT WAITRESS AGAIN! And next time, I will ASK for all my meals to be GF 🙂

Too good to be true!

Ever had a ridiculous restaurant experience like that one? An ornery server perhaps?

P.S. Alex is doing an awesome Namaste Giveaway! Check it out!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2010 3:27 am

    I can’t believe that waitress was so rude!! I probably would have had steam blowing out my ears!!

    Sorry you got glutened 😦 Hope the affects aren’t too bad! At least the food was good though–minus the rice.

    • August 27, 2010 3:29 am

      Kim, It wasn’t too bad, just bad tummy problems and a headache 😦 the food was awesome though! Well worth it 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. August 27, 2010 12:54 pm

    Alyssa that is crazy — why is the menu labeled GF if it isn’t? I don’t understand. Or there should be some disclaimer that you need to ask for it to be GF. I hope you feel ok today!

    I have a hard time going back to restaurants after having a rude waitress — I understand they have a stressful job sometimes, but I’m always polite and nice and if they aren’t polite back, I get pissed!

    • August 27, 2010 2:31 pm

      Holly, I know, right! If I had a more serious reaction to gluten, they could be in the running for a law suit! Either way, the food was amazing and I would love to go back and eat the items made GF…without the company of that awful waitress!

      ~Alyssa

  3. August 27, 2010 2:59 pm

    WHY oh why have i not had asian food in forever?! i love it and am totally craving it now!

    • August 27, 2010 3:03 pm

      🙂 If you ever find yourself at Park Meadows Mall, this lil joint is just a little jog up on I-25 off of Orchard Road 🙂 VERY GOOD!!!

      ~Alyssa

  4. August 27, 2010 6:04 pm

    Ugh what a lame server!! It always *mystifies* me when someone like that seems to know nothing about the “customer service” concept…. You work in that industry, lady, it’s kinda part of your JOB DESCRIPTION!
    But anyway. Awesome that most of the menu can be made GF. You gotta go back (and avoid the incompetent one)!

    • August 27, 2010 7:09 pm

      Lauren, totally going back and my thoughts exactly about her job description 🙂

      Alyssa

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. August 27, 2010 6:35 pm

    The food looks delicious, but I’m sorta floored that you have to ask for a GF dish to be made GF? o.O

    So, I’m religious about tipping well — I almost always tip 20% or more on a meal. I’ve never been a waitress, but I know that they’re trying to make a living off lousy wages. However, I don’t know if I would have been as generous as you were after the attitude she had with you! Wow. I would have probably started crying right there in the restaurant (when I get angry, I cry =P) and yeah. Wow. That would have made me so mad, to be treated like that by a waitress when *you’re* the customer!

    I hope you have better luck next time with the menu! And I’m sorry you got glutened. I hope you feel better soon. ❤

    (I missed reading your posts! I gotta go catch up now. Your blogs is one of my faves. :D)

    • August 27, 2010 7:08 pm

      Kazanoodle!! I’ve been missing you! Are you okey dokey? I’m all better now, but it was a traumatizing experience 🙂 great food, that waitress has seen better days!!

      🙂 feel better my dear!!

      Alyssa

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. August 27, 2010 7:15 pm

    Sushi! I miss sushi, it’s been a week since my last bite 😀

    • August 27, 2010 7:18 pm

      Anne, get on it!! Raw fish is key to happiness 🙂 polar bears love fish, right 😉

      Alyssa

      Sent from my iPhone

"Musings" Welcome!

