Skip to content

Day 4: Getting Into the Rhythym

August 24, 2010

So, it is day 4 of waking up at 4:30AM for work and eating along Kat’s diet plan for me. I’m starting to get used to it! I’m not nearly as hungry, which means that my stomach is getting familiar with the food quantities and timing. My body is also getting used to the new wake up time. And I’m starting to feel better working out in the evenings. I absolutely HATE working out at night…I’m just an early morning person and I feel better waking up with a workout…that’s just how it is! Are you a morning or evening worker-outer?

Made my routine (after 3 days prior) trip to Starbucks and got another Caffe Misto…really starting to dig these things! The coffee taste is much stronger than a latte. So, I feel like it is more effective ๐Ÿ™‚ Also, less milk. I sometimes feel like lattes are just coffee flavored milk, do you ever get that way?? Give me the STRONG STUFF! ๐Ÿ™‚

Got to work at 5:30AM after downing my cup o’ joe and had much more energy than I did while driving. I’m such a people person, I really get my energy from others. Thanks everyone for getting me pumped up! I think that is one reason I love morning workout classes so much. You are exhausted and pissy and then you walk into the room and you all become instantly happy together ๐Ÿ™‚ …I digress! Sorry…energy levels are up too if you can’t tell ๐Ÿ™‚ (until I hit the wall at 100 mph at 3PM)

I waited about 2 hours before I ate something, but I was so ready to eat by then! Started out with 2 slices of Great Harvest GF Buckwheat toast topped with 1 tbsp homemade almond butter. I LOVE ALMOND BUTTER!! And even better, I love MY almond butter! I wonder if I could do a giveaway and ship my almond butter…do you think it would keep?? Would you be interested in getting a sample of my AB?? Let me know! I’ll think about it! ๐Ÿ™‚

Whites.

HBE (hardboiled egg) ๐Ÿ™‚

A hour or so later, I downed 2 whole eggs. and then a bit later 4 egg whites…sounds like a ton, but I swear, I need the food!

So yesterday, I blogged about my foot hurting. It doesn’t hurt right now, but I really feel like I need to work out tonight…I think I’m addicted. I’m going to try to a massage scheduled for the evening so I have something else to keep me from working out…I always feel lazy when I don’t! Do you get that way?

The rest of my eats for today were the same as yesterday…I’m trying to rotate every couple of days so I don’t get bored with the food. Kat tells me that she doesn’t have time to cook so she eats really simple foods…I don’t have much time either, but I’m going crazy trying to keep things simple! It is inherent for me to try and be creative with my foods, so this is really a struggle. Do any of you have the same problem?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 8:03 pm

    I like to keep things simple as well, but then I get bored with what I’m eating.

    But at the same time I like eating the same things, because it makes grocery shopping and meal planning super easy!

    Sorry that prob doesn’t help you at all! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • August 24, 2010 8:27 pm

      Holly, I am a creature of habit and ritual as well, but I like to be creative as well. Same ingredients, different presentation ๐Ÿ™‚

      ~Alyssa

  2. August 24, 2010 9:02 pm

    I am such a creature of habit as well, but definitely get creative when I wanna ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you enjoyed your massage!

    • August 24, 2010 10:57 pm

      Meg, me too. I just feel stifled when I know I am limited on how I want to flavor my food ๐Ÿ™‚ Can you empathize there?!

      ~Alyssa

  3. August 24, 2010 10:23 pm

    I too hate the gym passed noon to be honest. I used to have a horrible gym/sleep schedule, I’d wake up at 11, go to the gym around 2pm or later. Ugh! but man 4:30 am!!! I usually get up at 7 and I’m in the gym around 9. Im a chef, and believe me, I get creative blocks all the time. I like cooking a batch of something ahead of time, like quinoa or turkey meat loaf. I also found that some of my pancake recipes actually freeze well. So it easy to just zap in in the microwave and of course better than the boxed stuff. But I think you should listen to your body if its hurting. I used to have an exercise addiction and after years of not listening, I got osteoporosis and hips that were basically a mosaic! Sorry to be rambling….I hope the massage as nice!

    • August 25, 2010 2:20 am

      Eden, thanks for the great tips! I tend to make things in large batches as well and I love freezing my waffles! Where are you a chef?? That would be such a romantic job for me ๐Ÿ™‚

      ~Alyssa

  4. August 24, 2010 11:08 pm

    I am totally a night-workout-er. I have a really hard time working out around 3-5 pm (basically, the most convenient time of day). I get so tired from teaching all day that I need to go home, eat, and sit for a few hours before hitting the gym. So welcome to the night-workout-ers club! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • August 25, 2010 2:21 am

      Lindsay, how impressive! Once I’m home, I’m totally done for the night ๐Ÿ™‚ You go girl!

      ~Alyssa

  5. August 24, 2010 11:30 pm

    I am the epitome of lazy compared to you my dear. Eat up! I eat a ton too , but none of your crazy fitness stuff ๐Ÿ™‚

    • August 25, 2010 2:23 am

      Empty Nut Jar, haha, thanks! I’ve been eating until my little heart is content! Thanks for the encouragement and kind words ๐Ÿ™‚

      ~Alyssa

  6. August 25, 2010 2:24 am

    I prefer to workout in the morning. I’m just a happier person and more productive and focused if I had a sweat sesssion first thing.

    If I do workout at night, I’m not as excited but I go and feel great afterwards.

    I’m interested in your almond butter. I haven’t tried making my own.

    • August 25, 2010 2:33 am

      Lea, same here ๐Ÿ™‚ I love an early morning sweat! If I get enough feedback on the AB, I’ll do a giveaway ๐Ÿ™‚ possibly send out samples…so easy to make your own! You just need a blender that is powerful enough. Check out my recipe for it!

      ~Alyssa

  7. August 25, 2010 12:46 pm

    Glad you are getting use to it!! It gets easier..trust me ๐Ÿ™‚

    • August 25, 2010 3:39 pm

      Thanks for the encouragement, Kat! Once I figure out what foods to eat and which to stay away from, it is super easy ๐Ÿ™‚ My cravings are getting much less too…I.love.this ๐Ÿ™‚

      I expect my weight to go up a bit and my body fat to go down, is that about right?

      ~Alyssa

"Musings" Welcome!

