Skip to content

Big Hoorah!

August 19, 2010

So we’ve just returned from our vacation and Hubby and I are getting ready to start Kat’s Bodybuilding Diet!  Hubby went and got all of the groceries today while I crammed to finish my homework from the past week.  It took me all day!  The first day of our diet starts tomorrow, but unfortunately, I am working 12 hours shifts this week at work and possibly the night shift!  I may not be able to get my scheduled workouts in 😦 Oh well…I’ll just decrease my caloric intake and adjust!

Since this was our last day to indulge, we had some yummy “decadent” meals:

Berry Oatmeal with a Whipped Banana, topped with Naturally Nutty Pepita Seed Butter and some of Emily’s Homemade Strawberry Jam…decadently yummy!

Although only my second try of a Naturally Nutty product, I’ve determined that Pepita Seed Butter is NOT my favorite.  Something about the flavor of the pepita just doesn’t sit right with me.  The product is still pretty good for a nut butter I’m not in love with, but I don’t think I’ll buy this one again.  Katie, from NN, loves this one though! So perhaps you might as well?

After 4 hours of homework, I had to stop to eat some lunch. Since we still didn’t have any groceries, I made do with an Amy‘s Lentil Soup, some Crunchmaster Crackers, and an open faced Almond Butter and Strawberry Jam sandwich on Great Harvest Buckwheat Bread.  So good!

It took me about 2 hours, but I eventually downed this whole plate!

This was definitely dessert!  I loaded it with my freshly made Raw Almond Butter and some of Emily’s Jam…Thanks again Emily! Still have a jar left!

Dinner was a weird concoction of foods.  Pretty standard for us, but I wanted to try a new product for fear that it would not fit our diet constraints!

Tofu noodles!  They were actually delish! Only 40 calories for the entire bag!  I tossed it with some toasted sesame oil, chopped onion and carrot, and some Ginger People Sauce.  Really yummy and simple!

Grilled chicken and asparagus topped the noodle dish!

I marinated the chicken in toasted sesame oil, Tamari soy sauce, orange marmalade, and red chili flakes.  Turned out wonderfully 🙂

Dessert was the last of our Kozy Shack Rice Pudding (GF!), topped with ground cinnamon, blueberries, and Naturally Nutty Pepita Seed Butter.  Hit the spot 🙂

Hope you all had a decadent day as well!  Have a great week!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 7:10 am

    Your decadent eats look like something I could eat pretty much every day! (Except for the chicken of course, hehe.) Alas, we must strive for balance, such is the way of the health foodie. 😉 Indulgences like yours look like a great treat, though! =)

    You have a good week, too! (Weekend’s almost here! So close yet so far!)

    • August 19, 2010 1:06 pm

      Kaz,

      In reality, they really weren’t too decadent, but decadent in comparison for the diet plan! You have a great weekend too!

      ~Alyssa

  2. August 19, 2010 11:11 am

    Hey Alyssa!
    Still been behind on blog reading!! Looks like I’ve been missing some great post!

    I have been wanting to try those tofu noodles but they looked rather scary to me. I actually had some in my hands the last time I went to the health food store, but I chickened out. Glad to know what you think of them. Maybe I’ll be brave and give them a try. All your eats look yummylicious as usual 🙂

    • August 19, 2010 1:07 pm

      Hey Kimberly,

      Welcome back! The tofu noodles are not bad, but they do smell like fish right when you open the bag. If you season them enough, the smell goes away 🙂

      Good luck!

      ~Alyssa

      • August 19, 2010 1:28 pm

        Fishy–ick! I don’t think I better try them–not a big fan of real fish much less something that just smells like fish 😉

      • August 19, 2010 10:36 pm

        I tried tofoodles (as I like to call them) recently — did a little blog about it too — and didn’t care for them. I could not get over that smell!! Even after cooking and seasoning them there was just something about them that was just off in my opinion. I reallllly wanted to like them — 40 calories for the whole bag = amazing. But alas, I will not be purchasing them again, boo.

      • August 19, 2010 11:17 pm

        Hey Katie!

        Yea I found that disturbing as well 😦 I didn’t mind it, but they weren’t good enough for me to buy again!

        Sent from my iPhone

  3. August 19, 2010 1:00 pm

    I’m excited to see more about your plan from Kat — so I hope you share more about that!

    I’ve tried those shiritaki noodles and YUCK, I could not get that fish smell out of mind while eating them. I’m glad you like them though — their stats are great!

    • August 19, 2010 1:08 pm

      Holly,

      I will be sharing it! This week has been an off week (working 12-14 hours a day), so my workouts have been dismal. I’m hoping to get back on track next week!

      The fish smell was very surprising, but I was able to get the smell out with the ginger people sauce 🙂

      ~Alyssa

  4. August 19, 2010 2:14 pm

    So, you are trying Naturally Nutty, too. I can’t find it anywhere near me and I’ve been stalking their website….I just hate to pay shipping on food! But their flavors look devine!

    • August 19, 2010 3:57 pm

      Pumpkin Scales,

      Yea, Natural Nutty seems to me sold primarily in Michigan and a select few other places. I got mine online, but I too hate paying for shipping on food!

      ~Alyssa

  5. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    August 19, 2010 3:44 pm

    Welcome back!!! I know what it is like to have NO food in the fridge. I just came back to my house and the only food we had was some popcorn kernels, and a whole bunch of moldy food (and bad oil, so i couldn’t even make popcorn!)

    • August 19, 2010 3:55 pm

      Alex, yikes! We at least had some good canned and frozen foods! You poor thing!

      ~Alyssa

  6. August 19, 2010 3:59 pm

    I’ve missed green asparagus! the season is sooooo over here and I can’t wait for next spring 🙂

  7. August 19, 2010 4:14 pm

    can’t wait to hear about the bodybuilding diet! and i love that amy’s soup…it’s my favorite!

    • August 19, 2010 5:06 pm

      Heather, the diet won’t be too bad…I just get bored of foods easily and will want to jazz them up! The soup is my fav too!

      ~Alyssa

  8. August 19, 2010 5:45 pm

    Welcome home! Can’t wait to see what this body building diet is like (you’ll be looking like Popeye by end of the week, yes? 😉 )

    • August 19, 2010 7:27 pm

      Lauren,

      Haha, I wish! It will be hard since we are upping the ante on work this week. 12-14 hour shifts! Yuck! Workouts will be bare minimum at best, but I’m trying to stick to it!

      It is hard to get creative with something you are unfamiliar with, ya know! Not to mention that cardio is my thing and to really slim down, I’ll need to up my weightlifting. I’ll post pictures if I start seeing results 🙂

      ~Alyssa

  9. August 22, 2010 6:26 am

    Natural Nutty sounds like a good thing to get!

"Musings" Welcome!

