Skip to content

Twig’s Bistro

August 18, 2010

I’ve found my Gluten Free Heaven 🙂

Hubby and I got up at 5AM to hit the road by 6ish so we could make it to Spokane in time for our flight at 3:45PM.  Ok…we left a little early 🙂 More time to spend in Spokane!

Before we get to the awesomeness of lunch, I have to share a sad tale…it involves driving, a bird, and suicide…brace yourself!!

So Hubby and I were driving down I-90W and I was searching for gluten free cafes in Spokane when all of a sudden Hubby screams, “OH MY GOD!”  I am startled, of course, so I look up in a panic, looking for the emergency…where is it?  I can’t find a thing!  Hubby then exclaims, “I think I killed a bird!”  I start laughing, thinking he is joking, and then he says he is serious.  Uh oh…

We essentially forgot about the poor bugger…until I got out of the car to help Hubby parallel park in downtown Spokane. I walk around to the front of the car and scream because I unfortunately saw this:

Yes, the bird flew directly into the car’s grill…I’ve never seen anything like it.

A little grotesque, but also completely unbelievable.  We had no way of “removing the bird”, so Hubby used our Barney Butter spoon (after we had eaten all the BB!), but unfortunately, this bird was so committed to its death that it pinpointed its target!  We had to pop the hood because its head was actually wedged in between…like I said, incredibly gross, incredibly sad, and totally mind boggling!

Now, onto food…great transition, eh? Really sorry about that one!

Either way, while searching for GF cafe’s, I was able to find some recommendations through Gluten Free Spokane’s Blog.  Great site for travel purposes!  She mentioned that Twig’s Bistro and Martini Bar was a GFreebie’s dream, so immediately, I knew we had to try it!

When we arrived, the GF menu was promptly displayed and offered dishes like GF Burgers (with Kinnickinick buns), GF Crab Macaroni and Cheese, GF Sandwiches and pasta alike!  Woohoo!

Hubby and I shared a GF BBQ Chicken Salad…

So delicious!  Really hit the spot…it also had a creamy gorgonzola dressing, which I was nervous about, but it was awesome! Quite light actually 🙂

We also split…

A Seared Ahi Sandwich with Honey Sesame Chipotle Aioli, Fresh House Fries, and the most amazing Ketchup I’ve ever tasted!

It was absolutely delish and Hubby couldn’t even tell the bun was GF!

Have you ever found a restaurant that completely caters to your dietary needs? Where was it and what did you get??!  Do share!

p.s. Check out Holly’s Raw Crunch Giveaway! Totally Awesome! And GLUTEN FREE!

26 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2010 1:23 pm

    The food looks great!

    Sorry about the bird — that has happened to my dad when we lived in Montana. I remember I was in the car one of the times and the bird made the biggest “thud”!!! When we stopped at a gas station to take a look, the bird’s head was totally wedged in. So gross and really sad.

    • August 18, 2010 1:25 pm

      Holly,

      I’m glad I’m not the only one! Very gross and sad, agreed.

      The food was AWESOME!

      ~Alyssa

  2. August 18, 2010 2:01 pm

    So sad about the bird!! When I was in high school, I ran over a cat. It was AWFUL. I seriously cried for a week about it.

    Twig’s Bistro sounds AWESOME! And the food–yum! Seared ahi is one of my favorites!

    A few nights ago I ate at a restaurant in DC called Java Green. It’s a vegan place, but they offer a TON of GF options! I wanted to try everything, but ended up going with the Temptation Wrap. It was filled with grilled tempeh, avocado, spinach, soy cheese (which was actually good!) etc. etc. I was so excited they had a GF tortilla!

    • August 18, 2010 2:03 pm

      Sara,

      I’M A COMIN’ TO DC!!! 🙂 That place sounds fantastic! I’ll keep it mind if Hubby and I end up there at some point! Thanks for the comment 🙂

      ~Alyssa

  3. August 18, 2010 2:57 pm

    oh my gosh, poor bird! one time i was sitting in STAND STILL traffic…as in i was not moving even a little…and a bird flew straight into my windshield! crazy little guy…

    • August 18, 2010 6:22 pm

      Heather, sometimes I think they just get tired of flying and say, screw it! I wouldn’t have handled it very well if I was standing still 😦

      ~Alyssa

  4. August 18, 2010 4:04 pm

    poor birdie… 😦

    that ahi sando looks SO AMAZING…

    fortunately we have MANY restos here in PDX that offer vegan + gf menus… I love it here!! 🙂

    • August 18, 2010 8:52 pm

      Spabettie,

      I’ve been dying to go to Portland! So lucky you live there and get to relish in their fine cuisine 🙂 Have you seen the episode of diners drive ins and dives on Portland? Some thai restaurant in a trailer or something…looked amazing!

      ~Alyssa

  5. nikkionlunch permalink
    August 18, 2010 4:29 pm

    Ohhh man! That poor bird! He really did himself in with that one.

    That food looks amazing and all the pics from your trip over the last few days are incredible! It looks absolutely gorgeous out there!

    • August 18, 2010 6:23 pm

      Nikki, seriously! He was asking for it with that aim. Glacier was awesome, food was awesome 🙂 I recommend it all!

      ~Alyssa

  6. August 18, 2010 5:03 pm

    I am pretty sure that that gorgeous tuna ‘burger’ totally makes up for the tragedy of Mr. Bird. Seared tuna is one of my favorite things and I pretty much never get the chance to have it. I don’t even know if we have GF places in Oklahoma unless you just ‘know’ what to order when you go out.

    Have a fantastic day! 🙂

    • August 18, 2010 6:25 pm

      Justine,

      The burger did make up for it! So sorry to hear of your void of seared tuna! You should buy some and sear it yourself!!

      Where in OK do you live? They’ve got some pretty hip places in OK City and Tulsa from what I’ve heard 🙂 Have you checked out LisaOU11’s blog? She is an Okie as well!

      ~Alyssa

  7. August 18, 2010 6:46 pm

    Holy crap!! That poor bird must have had some serious death wish…. 😦

    Well I’m glad you were able to console yourselves after the “incident” with some good GF food! Looks delish.

  8. August 18, 2010 6:51 pm

    AHHHHH! That is horrible! I probably would have taken pics though of it just like you guys did!

    I have yet to try that place! I’m fond of the Wild Sage Bistro. It is freaking amazing. The chef using all local ingredients, and although it is a little pricey it is so worth it to have GOOD GF food!

    • August 18, 2010 8:07 pm

      Nicole,

      I wish I had known you were from Spokane before our trip! I would have hit you up for food and invited you to meet up with us! Next time 🙂

      ~Alyssa

  9. August 18, 2010 7:17 pm

    Thanks for linking my blog 🙂

  10. August 18, 2010 8:04 pm

    Oh, how awful about the bird. I once had a bird hit the windshield of the car I was in, and the driver actually had to turn on the windshield wipers because of the mess…and it just sorta wound up smearing things. =/ It was pretty gruesome.

    That GF food looks amazing! I’m so glad that there are restaurants actually getting the hint now and catering to our diet! I have yet to find any out here, but I’ve got my eyes peeled.

    • August 18, 2010 8:08 pm

      Kaz, try googling it too! That is what I did 🙂 Just found a cool new place where I live as well…can’t wait to try it!

      That is a terrible bird story…I can totally empathize!

      ~Alyssa

  11. August 18, 2010 8:36 pm

    Ohmygosh, that poor bird! But that BBQ chicken salad looks like… a yummy bird.

    • August 18, 2010 9:46 pm

      Emily! AHHHHH you are so right! How morbid of us to have ordered it!!!! Haha, I can’t wait to share with Hubby 🙂

      And welcome to GF Muse!

      ~Alyssa

  12. August 18, 2010 10:36 pm

    Ugh – cars are seriously the biggest waste of money…I might have to curtail to public transportation myself soon – it’s that or bankruptcy :0.

    YUM! Is your husband GF?

    I want the burger please?

    • August 18, 2010 10:47 pm

      Eatmovelove,

      My Hubby is not GF, but he eats GF all the time because it is easier than preparing 2 meals 🙂 And cheaper! We try to share as much as possible! But if he is really dying for pasta/pizza/gluten, I go on my own for the meal. I wanted to try all of their dishes! Burger next time I’m in Spokane 🙂

      ~Alyssa

  13. August 19, 2010 2:07 am

    Your vacation/reunion looks amazing!! What a gorgeous place to spend time with all of your family an the people you love 🙂 Enjoy!!

"Musings" Welcome!

