Skip to content

Glacier Montage

August 17, 2010

We have so many pictures from our vacation it is OVERWHELMING!  We went on several 12-14 mile hikes with our family and were astounded by the beauty…I have decided that I prefer running to walking.  Perhaps it is my age, but I seem to prefer to get things done quickly…get more bang for my buck so to speak.  I hope I appreciate the slowing of things as I get older 🙂

Here are several of the best photos that we have from our vacation, hope you all enjoy!

Hubby with the horsey 🙂 We went on a half day trail ride…it was fun, but we weren’t allowed to trot…got old after a while!

Grizzly Sow that I spotted from the trail! She was with her 3 cubs…Glacier has the largest bear population in the entire United States! Kinda cool, kinda scary!

Sisters and Mom on the Ptarmigan Trail hike…14 miles round trip! (Left to Right: Emily (youngest), Rachel (middle), Me! (oldest), Mom)

Ptarmigan Lake and Ptarmigan Tunnel at the top of the switchback!

Daddy Moose that Hubby spotted on the trail!  It was HUGE! We then ran into Mom and Baby Moose…that was a bit nerve wracking!

Me outside of the “Mexican Restaurant” in St. Mary, right outside of the park.  It was CLASSIC 🙂

Family Dinner at the BAD FROG CANTINA!! The chicken tacos came out and looked awesome so my sis Rachel and I ordered the Super Nachos…we were sorely disappointed when they came out with fake cheese all over the top.  Best quote of the evening was when Juan Pablo (my adorable British Uncle) said to my sister with his lovely accent, “Oh No! Don’t eat that!  That…orange thing!”  Classic 🙂  She did eat it, and she did get sick!

Super cool fireplace in the lodge 🙂

Big Horn Sheep playing on a Glacier!

Sisters hiking to Grinnell Glacier…I wasn’t happy here…we had been hiking for 2 hours and it was raining and 40 degrees the whole time!

Grinnell Lake

Swiftcurrent Lake out back of our hotel

Hubby and I ready for our hike!

So many more pictures and so little time.  Hope you got a feel for our vacation! It was lovely, a bit cold for my taste for a summer vacation, but beautiful 🙂

18 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2010 7:30 pm

    I’m not sure how I ran into this, but I’m glad I did. That hike looks like a lot of fun, a few years ago my wife and a few immediate family members went (by went, I mean took a cog train, not hiked!) to the top of Pike’s Peak..My main goal was to see some Big Horn Sheep, but I never got to! Lucky you, looked fun!

    – Mike

    • August 17, 2010 7:53 pm

      Mike,

      Welcome to GF Muse! I’m trying to get my Hubby to hike Pikes Peak with me, if not this year, then next summer. I’ve never done the Cog, but have driven to the top…quite the view, but not much wildlife!

      ~Alyssa

  2. August 17, 2010 8:01 pm

    Beautiful pics!! Can’t wait to see more 🙂

  3. August 17, 2010 8:56 pm

    What an incredible trip!! Your photos are gorgeous!! 🙂

    • August 17, 2010 9:45 pm

      Thanks, Em! How is the pregnancy going? I’m sure you are as cute as a little pregnant mama can be!

      ~Alyssa

  4. Bri permalink
    August 17, 2010 9:32 pm

    Awesome stuff! I got back from a trip to Glacier a week ago, and I loved it, but my dad was so afraid of bears that he didn’t let us hike any trail over a mile long. Looks like there are some pretty sweet trails, though.

    • August 17, 2010 9:49 pm

      Hi Bri!! Welcome to GF Muse 🙂 Yea, I have to admit, I was a bit afraid of the bears, but on one of our hikes, I spotted a black bear and as soon as it saw us, it bolted off into the woods! Poor thing was actually scared of us! I can’t say the same for a Grizzly bear though 🙂 I have a feeling they are a bit more “tough”!

      ~Alyssa

  5. August 17, 2010 9:53 pm

    These pictures are BEAUTIFUL!! My favorite skiing trail is called Ptarmigan and I’ve always wondered where the name came from – now I know 🙂
    By the way – can you recommend hiking sneakers? Been needing a good pair and I assume yours are comfortable since you did all of that hiking in them! (Plus they look cute!!)

    • August 17, 2010 10:12 pm

      Hey Ella!

      Thanks for the comment on the pictures! The hiking shoes that I wore are actually trail running shoes. They are made by Salomon and great for trail running. They worked fine for me, but next time I do a trail with lots of rocks or pebbles, I would choose a higher ankled boot to keep them out of my shoes. Merrell and Keen both make great hiking shoes. Check out departmentofgoods.com for good deals…one of my fav sites!

      ~Alyssa

  6. August 17, 2010 11:33 pm

    That looks beautiful! Makes me want to go visit! Looks like you guys had a wonderful time.

    • August 18, 2010 2:30 am

      RunRantRealize,

      Thanks! It was a great vacation 🙂 You should visit if you ever get the chance!

      ~Alyssa

  7. August 18, 2010 12:27 am

    thanks for the comment on my blog…it lead me to yours, and it looks great. What lovely pictures..and you are so pretty!

    • August 18, 2010 2:32 am

      EmptyNutJar,

      Thanks for stopping by GF Muse! I hope you really enjoy it 🙂 Thanks for the sweet compliments as well!

      ~Alyssa

  8. August 18, 2010 3:19 am

    Love all the pictures. Makes me want to go on a vacation there! 🙂

    You and your family are so beautiful!

    • August 18, 2010 12:42 pm

      Twins,

      It was quite magnificent! Really worth going at least once in your life 🙂 Thanks for the kind words! I love my family very much and of course think they are all gorgeous!

      ~Alyssa

  9. August 18, 2010 6:49 am

    Beautiful pictures! Omigosh, I would have been so terrified with the bears and the moose all around me. Did you get nervous any?

    That crackling fire looks like it was just the ticket after being out in the chill all day! You’ve convinced me — I now *need* to go there, and once I show Amor these pictures, I think I’ll have him convinced, too. Maybe. 😉 Hehe.

    • August 18, 2010 12:44 pm

      Kaz,

      When we encountered the mama moose and got inbetween her and her baby, yes…I was terrified! I kept backing away!! When the bear made eye contact with us, I began to walk away quickly as well 🙂 For the most part, we didn’t see wildlife on a lot of the trails though!

      The crackling fire was very popular! You had to race to get seats around it at night 🙂 Hope you can convince Amor to go with you!

      ~Alyssa

"Musings" Welcome!

