Skip to content

Customer Service at It’s Best!

August 12, 2010

So as soon as I saw the Groupon for Ceres’ Kitchen, I jumped on it like a spider monkey!  I love supporting local/non-chain stores, and Ceres‘ is one of those that I have a special fondness for…A GLUTEN FREE BAKERY RIGHT DOWN THE STREET!

I stopped by earlier in the day to pick up dinner for Hubby and I…a yummy Garlic Chicken Pizza and some of her famous Mock Rye Bread…secret ingredient…COFFEE!  The owner herself was running the shop by her lonesome and I surprised her as I was several hours early.  Not only did she apologize profusely, but she asked for my address and phone number so she could HAND DELIVER THE PIZZA HERSELF!

Hubby and I started to get antsy around 7PM, but seeing as the bakery closes at 6, we gave her a couple extra minutes.  Sure enough! 7:15PM, a homemade GF pizza and loaf of bread were hand delivered to my doorstep!  Ceres‘, you’ve got my business!

I also microwaved some frozen veggies since I’ve been going crazy without them!  Their still nutritious…right? Flash frozen at the peak of ripeness!! (or so they say)

To top off the evening…a beautiful night sky 🙂

Are you a local business supporter??

18 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2010 12:26 pm

    wow-that’s crazy good service. i hope she continues to do well in her business.
    I am most certainly a local business supporter 🙂
    There is only ONE restaurant in town that I can eat at without fear of being glutened, and it’s not a chain restaurant.
    There is an organic, gluten/dairy/egg/casein free snack bar production facility called Oskri that is about 1/4 mile from my house. they have a tiny retail store in the facility which I frequently shop in 😉
    I love our tiny little farmer’s market in town, which i love 🙂

    • August 16, 2010 2:40 am

      Heather,

      So jealous you have a cute little store nearby! That is one thing that I dislike about Colorado Springs…the lack of cute little shops that are within a quick biking distance. Wish we had better local farmers markets as well!

      ~Alyssa

  2. August 12, 2010 1:04 pm

    I love to support little businesses near my house. I will pay extra for my larabars from a local health food store rather than go to the big chains. their service is great and they’ve special ordered products for me, etc, so I try to show them that I appreciate that!

    That pizza looks so good!

  3. August 12, 2010 2:00 pm

    It’s Eat Local week here in Oklahoma City and it’s a movement to encourage people to eat at local restaurants and not chains and it’s been a big success. So, yes, I try to eat local and support local businesses as much as I can.

    • August 16, 2010 2:41 am

      Lisa,

      What an awesome event! I wish we had something like that here…I would be the biggest supporter! Eat locally for me!

      ~Alyssa

  4. August 12, 2010 6:21 pm

    Good customer services gets me EVERY time because it is so hard to come by. I try to support local businesses as much as possible.

  5. August 13, 2010 3:52 am

    Being a small business owner, yes I support locals!! I believe it is so important to support the little guys ; )

    Pizza looks great!

    • August 16, 2010 2:42 am

      Twins,

      I was aware you had a small business, but what exactly is it?? I’m so intrigued!

      ~Alyssa

  6. August 13, 2010 12:41 pm

    I’ve gotten a little behind on my blog reading–oops 😉

    Wow, gluten free pizza and bread delivered to your door!! I think I need to move ASAP!!! Sometimes living in the country has it’s downside.

  7. August 13, 2010 4:35 pm

    That pizza looks delish! I do love supporting local establishments. Especially when you get to know the people behind them. They’re so often so passionate about what they do. I go to – and talk about -my favorite pizza joint so much I’m pretty sure (or would like to think) I’m boosting their business! I love being that kind of hard core supporter.

    • August 16, 2010 2:44 am

      Lauren,

      Good for you! I would consider myself a good marketing tool for many small companies 🙂 If I like your stuff and you are responsive and attentive to me, I’m your fan for life!

      ~Alyssa

  8. August 14, 2010 7:13 pm

    That’s awesome! I would definitely love to give my business to such an attentive company. 😀

    I love supporting local, and do so whenever I can. =)

    • August 16, 2010 2:38 am

      Kaz, local businesses are awesome, especially ones that care enough to be attentive! Good job supporting them!

      ~Alyssa

  9. August 16, 2010 12:37 am

    I certainly try to be a local business supporter! We have the most adorable family-owned coffee shop down the block from us… I really like to go there instead of Caribou or Starbucks (or, maybe hit up all three?!).

    • August 16, 2010 2:37 am

      Lindsay, I totally agree on the local business support! Why not hit all three coffee joints?? 🙂

      ~Alyssa

"Musings" Welcome!

