Skip to content

Grilled Chicken with Blueberry Balsamic Reduction

August 10, 2010

Today I got up at 4:40AM and met my sister at the gym to do a Body Pump class!  I couldn’t believe she made it seeing as she is on vacation!  But she beat me there 🙂

Body Pump kicked our butts, but it was AWESOME!

I then had to go to an Awards Breakfast for one of my co-workers. Unfortunately, he did not win the award, but he did get a free breakfast compliments of me 🙂 I paid for my breakfast too knowing that I wouldn’t be able to eat much of it…I had a scoop of runny eggs with a side of tabasco and ketchup 🙂 Yum. Not.

To make up for my “breakfast” I had a snack of Blueberry Chobani…

with a side of additional blueberries and a spoonful of Naturally Nutty on top!

My sister met me at work so we could go for a lunchtime run…3 miles, nice and easy. Then Hubby met us for lunch and brought us sushi! I was so excited! It was absolutely delicious 🙂 I love brown rice salmon nigiri like I love my right foot…that’s a lot!

I got home from work around 5:45 and started cooking dinner for Hubby. 

Grilled Chicken with  Blueberry Balsamic Reduction 🙂  This is what happens when you run out of food!  We are trying to eat ourselves out of house and home because we are going on vacation for a week to Glacier National Park!  We are so excited!  We fly to Spokane on Saturday and then drive for 8 HOURS to Glacier! Insane!

Anyways, back to dinner. Grilled chicken accompanied by roasted sweet potatoes with onions, leftover broccoli hash, and grilled zucchini. So good!

Blueberry Balsamic Reduction

– 1 cup blueberries

– 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar

– 2 tbsp raw honey

– 1 tbsp red chili flakes

– 1 clove of garlic, chopped

Method:  Add all ingredients minus the honey to a saucepan on high heat.  Bring the mixture to a light boil.  Once the mixture has reached a boil, turn it down to a simmer.  Allow sauce to simmer for about 3 minutes. Next, add in the honey and stir to combine.  Allow to simmer until thick like a jam consistency. Turn off the heat and allow the mixture to sit for 1 minute.  Top food of choice with reduction 🙂

Do you ever come up with more creative recipes when you have LESS to choose from?  Any favorites you would like to share?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 1:25 pm

    You are quite the cook!! I am jealous!! Wish I were as creative or had time for that. 🙂

  2. August 10, 2010 2:32 pm

    Ooohhhhhh, your blueberry chicken dish looks scrumptious!! So fancy!! 🙂

    • September 25, 2010 11:09 pm

      Em, it was really tasty! I’m sure your hubby would love it!

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

  3. August 10, 2010 2:48 pm

    Ahhh Glacier National Park…. such an incredible place! That is muy exciting.

    I always come up with the most creative recipes when I’m running low on things. Otherwise I rely too heavily on go-to’s or some random idea I’ve just bought the ingredients for. But those rando-recipes can actually be so good they find their way into my regular repertoire.

  4. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    August 10, 2010 6:37 pm

    Everything you make looks delicious! I have piles of recipes that I need to try…and your not helping any!…jk…hehehe

  5. August 10, 2010 8:43 pm

    That looks amazing and so fancy! Amor once ordered a roasted duck with blueberry reduction on it, and it was one of his most memorable meals ever. I want to try to recreate it with your recipe! =)

  6. August 11, 2010 1:30 am

    Blueberry balsamic reduction…YUM!

"Musings" Welcome!

