Skip to content

Burn Baby Burn!

August 9, 2010

So these past few days, my tummy has been ON FIRE!! In the good sense though 🙂 Know what I’m saying?? When you get that warm feeling because you are consistently pleasing your tummy and feeding the “fire” of your metabolism!!  Love it!

I slept in today instead of getting up at 5AM to work out.  However, I was totally fine with it! Didn’t feel guilty in the least!  I had a 7 AM group fitness session that I needed to attend, so I went there with a hopeful mind that we wouldn’t be playing dodgeball…the bane of my existence!  Instead, we did sprint workouts!  I followed it up with a 5 mile run and ended up burning 897 calories…SCORE!

The day was SUPER busy!  I couldn’t wait for it to be over so I could go home to Hubby 🙂  Since we are going on vacation, we need to eat up all our produce and other foods!  I decided Tofu was on the menu…Hubby supplemented himself with some Salmon 🙂

Nummy, nummy, tofu in my tummy!  We had toasted sesame pan seared tofu, baked sweet potatoes, and what I would deem a broccoli hash!

Broccoli Hash

– 4 cups broccoli (because we need to eat it up!)

– 1 chopped apple

– 6 chopped figs (because we need to eat them!)

– 1/2 a large onion, chopped

– 10 baby portabella mushrooms, sliced

– 1 tsp olive oil

– 2 cloves chopped garlic

– 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

– 1 tbsp agave nectar

Method: I basically put all of this into a saute pan and reduced it.  It ended up being a sweet and savory dish…my calling :0)

I ate about half of this…I was stuffed! Hubby ate the rest 🙂 We topped our tofu with Ginger People’s Sweet and Spicy Sauce…soo good!

I decided after reading so many blogs featuring PB&J (Lauren!) that I would treat myself for dessert 🙂

2 slices of Great Harvest’s GF Cinnamon Chip Bread: 1 slice topped with Naturally Nutty’s Cinnamon Vanilla SunButter and some of Emily’s homemade peach jam (all gone now, Em!), the other slathered in Dark Chocolate Dreams 🙂  Really hit the spot!

I washed it all down with some delicious Cha Cha tea!

I loved the Blueberry Rooibos! It was tart yet sweet and delicate…perfect way to end the evening!

Are you good at forgiving yourself?  What are some things that you tend to get disappointed in yourself over? Have you overcome them lately!?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2010 12:26 pm

    SOMETIMES i’m good at forgiving myself…..depends on the situation. It’s harder when I purposely do something I know I shouldn’t have-i.e. a mistake.
    It’s easier to forgive myself when what I did was an accident.
    I once heard that “you should forgive mistakes, you should excuse accidents.”
    It’s still harder to forgive myself more than anyone else :/
    P.s. great lookin dinner!!!!!!!!!!1

  2. August 9, 2010 12:57 pm

    That broccoli has looks wonderful!

    I’m pretty good at forgiving myself, but I’m not good at forgetting what I did. Does that make sense? I tend to dwell on past mistakes or missed opportunities, and even though I ok with what I chose to do, I can’t forget it. So maybe I’m not forgiving myself?

    What a deep question so early in the morning 🙂

  3. August 9, 2010 8:21 pm

    That’s another one of your winning sweet/savory combos, for sure! Looks fantastic!

    I tend to be pretty harsh on myself for past mistakes, so even now, I’m not sure if I’ve forgiven myself. On the other hand, I’ve accepted things that I’ve done, and even admitted to the role they play (both negative AND positive) in the life I now live. I suppose it evens out in the end. =)

  4. August 10, 2010 2:20 am

    Glad you had a great workout! Love that feeling ; )

  5. August 10, 2010 2:54 pm

    Aw hell YES!!! That’s good-lookin’ PB & J. 🙂

    Also a great looking hash! The figs and apple are pretty genius additions to a savory hash. I should try that.

    I’ve gotten a lot better at forgiving myself in recent years – taking the “yogic” perspective of letting things be, living in the moment, etc. But there are some things that still get to me occasionally – sometimes out of the blue (like little things at work). In those cases I try to give myself a day to cool down and move on. Usually within a couple days I’m more philosophical about it.

"Musings" Welcome!

