Skip to content

Falafel, Hummus, and Babaganoush Oh My!

August 6, 2010

Hubby and I had a lovely day!  A leisurely breakfast, a good workout at the gym, some relaxation time at the pool, and then a fantastic lunch!

As we lounged by the pool, we snacked on this!

Although completely MELTED, it was super good 🙂 Hubby is always amused that it tastes of chocolate, but is GREEN on the inside! Cool!!

Lunch was another fantastic Groupon Deal!  Taste of Jerusalem was posted and I snatched it! I have been wanting to try Middle Eastern cuisine for some time now, and this was the perfect opportunity!

Check this out 🙂

I ordered the Veggie Plate with Falafel, Babaganoush, Hummus, and Dolmas…delish!! A little Tzatziki Sauce on the side and I was in heaven 🙂

Hubby ordered a Schewarma Plate (I think that is how you spell it!) with Beef/Lamb 🙂  I couldn’t help but nibble on it!

Have you ever tried Middle Eastern Food??   I highly recommend it!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2010 6:46 am

    I’m keeping an eye out for those Green Superfood bars every time I hit up the natural food store, but no luck. I think I’ll have to give in and order online.

    I *love* Middle Eastern food, particularly dolmas. Something about the combo of lemon, dill, and whatever else is in it is so good and makes me happy. 😀

    • August 6, 2010 2:08 pm

      Kaz,
      I love dolmas too! Sometimes they are a little overpowering, but for the most part, purely decadent 🙂 Check out the Amazing Grass website…they have some good seasonal sales that go on!

      ~Alyssa

  2. August 6, 2010 11:20 am

    Yummmmo! When I was a nanny in new jersey I lived with a Jewish family, so yeah I’ve had my share of middle eastern food.
    Shwarmas-yum
    Hummus-of course
    Falafels-so good
    Babaghanoush-was ok, I might like it better if I Heather-ized it.
    Kugel-Oh em geee!! So good! I didn’t have all my food intolerances then, so I’d have to totally Heatherize that, but that would be easy 🙂

    • August 6, 2010 2:09 pm

      Heather,

      I would have died and gone to heaven! It was delish…have to agree though, the babaganoush was lacking in some way…not sure where, but didn’t have the punch that I was expecting…kind of tasted like burned eggplant!

      ~Alyssa

  3. August 6, 2010 11:26 am

    I’ve never gone out for Middle Eastern food but I LOVE hummus!! I could eat it by the bowl full! I also love falafels! I made them at home once and thought they were really good. There is a good Meditteranian Rest. near where I live that has that kind of stuff, but I’m afraid it wouldn’t be ‘safe’ for allergies so I have never tried it.

    Oh, and melted bars are the best 🙂

    • August 6, 2010 11:29 am

      Oops–spelled ‘Mediterranean’ wrong–hate spelling errors! 😉

    • August 6, 2010 2:13 pm

      You definitely have to go to the whole in the wall joint run by the real people straight from the Middle East! They don’t skimp on ingredients 🙂

      ~Alyssa

  4. August 6, 2010 12:53 pm

    Oh that looks delicious! I’ve never gone out for Middle Eastern food before.

    I love green bars that taste like chocolate!

  5. August 6, 2010 4:15 pm

    Middle eastern food IS SO GOOD.

    • August 7, 2010 1:51 am

      Anne,
      I totally agree! What type of eats do you have in Finland?? I would love to vacation there!

      ~Alyssa

  6. August 6, 2010 11:04 pm

    I love middle eastern food mainly because I love hummus, haha

"Musings" Welcome!

