Skip to content

Turkey Tenderloin with Peaches, Figs, and Quinoa Pilaf

August 3, 2010

Today was one of my best days this week 🙂  It took the weight of the Earth to get me out of bed today…as has been the trend this week, but the point is…I GOT UP!!!  I was awake at 3AM and tossed and turned until my alarm went off at 4:30AM.  Of course, once my alarm went off, all I wanted to do was sleep!! So I set it again for 5AM and then forced myself to get up.

I had my coffee and my 1/2 banana and almond butter on the way to the gym…I look forward to that every morning!  Tomorrow, I don’t get to indulge 😦 Celiac marker blood test for me!  Ran 6 miles on the treadmill and then rushed off to work to begin cooking pancakes for my staff.  YAY FOR PANCAKE BREAKFASTS!!! They were all worried that I was making “Glutton Free” pancakes 🙂 I explained that these were both “Glutton Free” and “Gluten-Full”…they were pleased.

Today was a LONG day, but a good one.  I have been looking forward to coming home and relaxing with Hubby all day long!  However, after dinner, I must dig into my Master’s homework 😦 I will relax while I can!

So check this out…

Oh yea 🙂  For all those that don’t like Pork, we substituted Turkey Tenderloin…very nice!

You all will not be disappointed by this recipe!! (inspired again by Clean Eating Mag)

Turkey Tenderloin with Peaches and Figs and Quinoa Pilaf

– 1 cup quinoa

– 1 tsp olive oil

– 1 lb turkey tenderloin

– 1/4 tsp salt

– 1/4 tsp ground pepper

– 2 peaches sliced

– 4 figs sliced

– 1/4 cup dried raisins/blueberries

– 1/4 cup toasted pinenuts

Method:  Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Prepare quinoa and remove from heat once finished cooking. Meanwhile, coat a large ovenproof saute pan with oil and set over medium high heat.  Season turkey with salt and pepper and sear both sides until browned, about 2 minutes per side. Add peaches and figs and then move the ovenproof saute pan to the 375 degree oven to cook for 20 minutes.  Fluff the quinoa and add in the raisins, blueberries, and pine nuts.  Slice, portion, and serve!

Absolutely delicious 🙂  Have you ever had one of those weeks where all you want to do is sleep and snack?? That is totally where I have been!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2010 3:30 pm

    Home from Florida and look forward to catching up on some blog reading 🙂

    Are you having to eat gluten for your test? Hope all goes well!

    Your dinner looks scrumptous (I don’t know if I spelled that right:)

    • August 3, 2010 4:03 pm

      Welcome home Kimberly!

      No, in fact this test is to see if I’ve “healed” from eating GF for so long. If my numbers are down, then I’ve done well! If they are up, then I still might be eating something on accident that is not completely GF. I’ll keep you posted!

      ~Alyssa

      p.s. you were close! Scrumptious 🙂

  2. August 3, 2010 4:26 pm

    You impress the crud outta me with your early mornings!
    Also impressive is that you make gluten-full pancakes for your staff. Now that’s generosity 🙂

    “Good luck” (can you even say that in this case..?) on your Celiac test!!

    • August 3, 2010 5:05 pm

      Thanks Lauren!

      I had to make the gluten-full pancakes because people freak out about the “unknown”…oh well…no use in trying to change people who don’t want to!

      Thanks for the luck!

      ~Alyssa

  3. August 3, 2010 4:40 pm

    This looks delicious! If I get my act together I am going to put a to-die-for peach salad on my blog today/ tomorrow. It is so good, you must make it, and now that I am thinking about it… it is gluten free too. Go go go!

  4. August 3, 2010 6:21 pm

    This looks so delicious! I love how slices peaches look — they are so beautiful! And yes, I would definitely make this with turkey instead of pork — I have not had good cooking experiences with pork, it always turns out rock hard and super tough!

    • August 3, 2010 7:57 pm

      Holly,

      I know what you mean about the pork! I’ve found that if I use a meat thermometer, it comes out perfectly. You want to pull your pork out of the oven when it gets to about 145 degrees, then let it rest and it will continue to cook up to about 160 degrees. If you let it rest for about 10 minutes, you should have a perfect tenderloin!

      Turkey on the other hand, is fool proof 🙂 You can’t screw that tenderloin up!

      ~Alyssa

  5. August 3, 2010 8:36 pm

    That looks really good! Again, you impress me with your savory/sweet food combinations! 😀

    Oh, I’ve had those weeks where sleeping and eating are my number one priority. Trying to shake one off right now. 😀

    I hope your numbers are down and that you’re healing from the gluten!

    • August 3, 2010 8:56 pm

      Hey Kaz!

      I hear ya with the eat/sleep routine…I hate when I’m in a funk like that! I usually just have to kick my butt and get a good workout in, that helps best.

      I hope I’m healing too! Otherwise, I will be ashamed of my GFmuse title 🙂

      ~Alyssa

  6. carascravings permalink
    August 3, 2010 11:33 pm

    Oh my, that looks sooo good!

    And yes, I can relate with your snackyness! I don’t really have a justifiable reason as to why I am more snacky as of late, but whateve.

    • August 4, 2010 12:24 am

      Hey Cara!!

      I think that a lot has to do with the time of the month 🙂 At least that was kind of how it was for me! Darn hormones!!

      ~Alyssa

  7. August 3, 2010 11:54 pm

    Totally feel you on the sleeping and snacking thing..pretty sure I would make a career of it this week if I could still get paid 🙂

    • August 4, 2010 12:25 am

      Emily,

      AGREED!!! If only it didn’t catch up to us in the end 🙂 I think mine was hormonally linked. Is that what usually brings yours on??

      ~Alyssa

"Musings" Welcome!

