Skip to content

Sweet and Spicy Salmon Tacos!

August 2, 2010

So tonight was the second night that Hubby and I busted out our pre-made menu!  Low and behold, Sweet and Spicy Salmon Tacos from Clean Eating Magazine!

Not only were these tacos absolutely delicious, they were so quick and easy!  I think it took us a total of 15 minutes to whip these up.  Check out the recipe!

Sweet and Spicy Salmon Tacos (we used Salmon instead of Shrimp)

– 1/2 cup frozen berries (they recommend cherries, I used my mixed raspberries, marionberries, and blackberries)

– 1.5 Tbsp red chili flakes (they use 1 jalapeno)

– 2 tsp galangal (they used fresh ginger)

– 2 Tbsp raw honey (ahh, they used 4 tsp, that is why this was so sweet!)

– 2 8 oz salmon filets

– 1/4 tsp sea salt

– 1 Tbsp EVOO

– 6 corn tortillas (they used taco shells)

– 1 cup spinach leaves

– 1 cup cherry tomatoes

– 1/2 cup Daiya shredded cheddar cheese (they used raddicho and grated carrots)

Method: Place frozen berries, galangal, honey, and red pepper flakes in your VITAMIX (or blender :-)). Blend until smooth.  Meanwhile, heat up oil in a skillet over high heat. Season salmon with salt, add to the hot pan and cook both sides. Add in berry blended mixture and cook to reduce.  Remove from heat and build tacos! I warmed my tortillas in a 350 degree oven for 10 minutes wrapped in foil.

Nutritional Facts:  1 serving (2 tacos), Calories: 348 (I think I was fairly close to this, I had 4 oz of salmon instead of 6 shrimp), Fat: 11 g, Protein: 26 g

Glorious Salmon 🙂

Colorful sides!

A little dash of Melanie‘s!

Additional sustenance= GF tortilla chips from Costco, TJ’s Peach Salsa, and Truffled Black Bean Hummus (recipe coming!)

Digging in!

Sexy face 😉 and yummy-ness!

Do you ever take recipes and manipulate them because you don’t have all the ingredients??  I LOVE IT!

Also, for all of you that have been dying for a VitaMix, they have continued their sale on refurbished VitaMixes!! $365 for your very own. I haven’t seen them this low anywhere else! If at all, now is the time to buy!

24 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2010 6:55 pm

    You guys are two cute. The recipe looks amaazing! My boyfriend’s going to have to be the guinea pig for this once since my mom (other salmon fanatic in my life) is usually pretty boring in her seasonings.

    • August 2, 2010 7:21 pm

      Emily,

      Thanks!! You guys will love this recipe…sooooo good!! You wouldn’t believe that it was healthy because it is devilishly delish!

      ~Alyssa

  2. August 2, 2010 6:58 pm

    I’m a total recipe manipulator whe I cook for myself 🙂 when I’m cooking for others-not so much. Hubby is QUITE particular and the recipe needs to be to the T for him.
    Those tacos look great by the way!

    • August 2, 2010 7:27 pm

      Heather,

      The tacos were awesome! My Hubby is a strict recipe follower 🙂 I’m slowly breaking the mold with him when we try things like this! Still a recipe, but substituting when necessary 😉

      ~Alyssa

  3. August 2, 2010 7:01 pm

    I wish that I liked salmon b/c it has amazing health benefits–but I just don’t :(.

    Hubbs is too cute in that picture!

    • August 2, 2010 7:22 pm

      Lisa,

      I agree he is super cute 🙂 Why I married him! This recipe was supposed to call for shrimp, give it a try with a fish you like…should turn out about the same!

      ~Alyssa

  4. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    August 2, 2010 7:17 pm

    Ohh that looks delectable! I need to be more adventurous with my meats. I need to add fruit!!

    • August 2, 2010 7:22 pm

      Alex,

      This sauce would go well with anything! I think it would be a hit with chicken 🙂

      ~Alyssa

  5. ilovefetacheese permalink
    August 2, 2010 7:49 pm

    You have a beautiful blog!! Adding you to my blog roll…and omg what is this about refurbished VITA-MIXES??? *Runs to vita mix website* Thanks!

    • August 2, 2010 7:54 pm

      Thanks so much, Christina! Welcome to GFmuse 🙂 Hope you are able to find the VitaMix of your dreams! After you give them all your money, then they take the liberty of teasing you with emails of sales…so lucky!

      ~Alyssa

  6. August 2, 2010 8:14 pm

    i LOVE sweet and spicy! this sounds really really good…although i would probably go with the ginger 🙂 i sub ingredients all the time though…it’s impossible to keep everything on hand all the time!

    • August 2, 2010 8:20 pm

      Heather,

      Yea, ginger is more readily available, but Hubby and I are Thai food nuts! So we have all the Thai ingredients on hand at all times 🙂

      ~Alyssa

  7. August 2, 2010 8:46 pm

    Yo that is SUCH a stellar idea to add berries to a sauce for salmon!! Looks like a great mix of flavahs.

    • August 2, 2010 8:51 pm

      Lauren,

      It was delish! I am willing to bet it would rock on chicken/steak/the whole gamut!

      ~Alyssa

  8. Little Bookworm permalink
    August 2, 2010 9:04 pm

    Hi Alyssa. I thought I would post this here. To make sweet potato cheetahs follow this link: http://www.snack-face.com/chu-chu-chu-cheetahs/

    • August 2, 2010 9:23 pm

      Thanks so much! Can’t wait to check it out 🙂 Thanks for visiting my blog!

      ~Alyssa

  9. August 2, 2010 9:09 pm

    That looks so good! I LOVE sweet-and-savory dishes.

    And thanks for commenting on my blog–it led me to yours!

    • August 2, 2010 9:24 pm

      Mimi,

      Not a problem! Glad you came by! If you try the dish, let me know if you like it!

      ~Alyssa

  10. August 2, 2010 10:48 pm

    I love how you blend sweet and spicy like that! Your meals always look so appetizing and exciting. 😀

    Aww, you’re too cute! It always surprises me to see how young you are — you come off as so wise and mature in your writing, so naturally, I thought you were older. =)

    • August 3, 2010 1:20 am

      Hey Kaz!

      I am pretty young (24), but more importantly, I look much younger than I am!! I like having exciting looking food 🙂 It sucks when it disappoints me though…this one was a winner!

      ~Alyssa

  11. Dad permalink
    August 3, 2010 12:54 am

    I’m gonna try this dish – except maybe not with the truffle black bean hummus. Not yet sure what I think about truffles …

    • August 3, 2010 1:20 am

      Yay Dad!!

      You and mom would love it 🙂 Oooh, maybe Jeff and I will bring our truffle oil for you to try 😉 You will like them!!

      ~Alyssa

  12. Sandy Keeter permalink
    August 3, 2010 1:11 am

    Jimbo and I sure do enjoy your blog! It’s so creative and entertaining..:). You and hubby are cute – love his blue eyes. Maybe we can meet up sometime and you can feed us dinner the next time we’re in COS?!

    Grandy Sandy

    • August 3, 2010 2:08 am

      Thanks, mom 🙂 We would love to cook dinner for you! Come back to CO and visit soon!!

      Love,
      Pooh

"Musings" Welcome!

