Skip to content

VitaMix: Take One!

July 31, 2010

So upon receiving my new favorite kitchen appliance, I decided to make something that every VitaMix owner must make.  I am pretty sure it is a right of passage…or at least, that is the rumor 🙂

Maple Cinnamon Protein Ice Cream!!!!

Maple Cinnamon Protein Ice Cream

– 1 cup almond milk

– 1 scoop whey protein powder

– 1 tsp vanilla

– 2 Tbsp maple syrup

– 18 ice cubes

– 1/2 tsp xanthan gum

– 1/4 tsp guar gum

– 1 tsp cinnamon

Method: Add ingredients to the world’s greatest kitchen appliance. Blend! Awesome!!

I topped this goodness with 1 tsp almond butter, 1 tsp walnut cashew butter, 1 tsp peach jam, and a fresh fig 🙂

The VitaMix adds something to this ice cream…something special! It tasted like creamy whipped air 🙂 Ahhh, I know the ingredient!!!  I’m pretty sure it was…MAGIC (sigh :-))

Have you ever made Protein Ice Cream?  Did you use a VitaMix or a different blender? Could you taste the difference?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2010 5:23 pm

    I want a VitaMix so badly, and one day, ONE DAY I tell you, I will get one! And I will do what you just did: make protein ice cream. It just does not turn out very well in my Magic Bullet. 😦

    Congrats on getting the greatest appliance ever!

    • July 31, 2010 9:49 pm

      Holly,

      I made the financial sacrifice and did it! I will never look back 🙂 start your vitamix wish fund right now!!

      Alyssa

  2. July 31, 2010 7:54 pm

    I’ve never tried protein ice cream, but I’m definitely admiring yours. 😀 It looks so delicious! See, while dense, rich ice creams have their place, I actually love fluffy ice creams with tons of overrun. That looks delicious!

    • July 31, 2010 9:50 pm

      Kaz,

      I prefer fluffy ice creams too 🙂 if you ever come visit in Colorado springs, I will make ya a batch!

      Alyssa

  3. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    July 31, 2010 8:05 pm

    Oh I’ve been wanting a vitamix!!!! They sound sooo neat!

  4. July 31, 2010 8:54 pm

    Looks amazing! I have been really wanting to try protein icecream but I don’t have the best mixer. I have been looking to buy a good one on the lower end price range but haven’t found one just yet.

    • July 31, 2010 9:56 pm

      Emily,

      Honestly, I loved my magic bullet for most things, but the vitamix takes the cake!!

      Alyssa

  5. July 31, 2010 9:32 pm

    YUMMY< looks great!

  6. August 1, 2010 10:25 pm

    This looks great!! I love the addition of maple syrup and fresh fig topping!

  7. August 2, 2010 1:40 pm

    I LVOE protein ice cream!! I wish I had a Vita..but they are too spendy for my cheap butt!!! I just use a magic bullet. I have never had a fresh fig, they don’t sell them here..I want one soooo bad because dried figs are to die for!!

    • August 2, 2010 6:42 pm

      Kat,

      I love protein ice cream too! I think chocolate peanut butter is my fav 🙂 These fresh figs are just alright…don’t think they were too ripe. The dried ones are DELISH!

      ~Alyssa
      p.s. Vitamix is having another sale! Their refurbished ones are down to $365! Unbeatable price 🙂 Check Craigslist too…I found some on there, but they were comparably priced to these online.

"Musings" Welcome!

