Skip to content

Bestest Day Ever!

July 31, 2010

So I was super tired this morning because Hubby and I didn’t get to bed until about 12AM!!!  I was really irritable yesterday evening, so I had a hard time sleeping because my skin gets itchy when I am irritated…strange.

Either way, I tried to wake up at 5AM and that just did NOT happen.  Beauty of it?? I got to wake up next to the love of my life 🙂 and a gorgeous sunrise!!  I knew I would still get a morning workout because I had to go to a group fitness session.  We were supposed to run a 5K today, but I was so far out in front, I figured no one would miss me if I ran another 5K on top of the one I was in the middle of….math anyone?? 10K!!!!!

Garmin-awesomeness gave me these stats:  6.0 miles, 44:15 minutes, 799 calories, avg HR 177.  I felt awesome!!  Didn’t get around to brekkie until 10AM!! (not cool, but I ate a nibble of a Mrs. May’s bar to tide me over) Breakfast today was a batch of Pina Colada Overnight Oats!

Pina Colada Overnight Oats

– 1/4 cup oats

– 1/4 cup greek yog

– 1/2 cup almond milk

– 1 tsp almond butter

– 1 tsp walnut cashew butter

– 1 tsp vanilla

– 1 tsp coconut extract

– 2 Tbsp shredded coconut

– 2 Tbsp crushed pineapple with juice

-1 tsp chia seeds

Method: Combine and allow to “marinate” overnight.  I heated these up in the AM and added in green grapes and a fresh fig. Yummy!

Didn’t get to have a mid-morning snack because I got hungry again at 1:30 PM, that meant it was time for lunch!

Yummy Chickpea Tagine over a bed of wilted spinach. Really hit the spot! I had a couple of snacks throughout the rest of the day (1/2 banana, handful almonds, 1/4 cup dried fruit) and then headed home around 5PM.

Now this is where it gets good…look what was waiting for me!!!

Action Nutrition Protein Bars!!!  These are GF, Wheat Free, high in antioxidants, and in omega-3 fatty acids!! I am so excited to give these a try 🙂 Thanks ActionNutrition!  I put one in my lunch to give it a try tomorrow!

The next exciting thing…oh yes, I did!

I bought my very own VitaMix!  I am now a proud owner, but I really feel like a proud mother 🙂  I can’t imagine giving birth to one of these things, but I am truly so proud of it!  It is wet because I already used it twice in a matter of an hour for dinner and dessert!!  Thanks to HEAB for advertising the sale!

Do you have a VitaMix? Do you LOVE IT!?!? If not, would you ever buy one?? I caved 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2010 5:32 am

    I’m glad you’re having a great day! I love days that just go right.

    I admire your running ability! You are so fast!

    Do you make your own walnut cashew butter, or buy it? =)

    VITAMIX! ENVY!!! Oh, the things you’re gonna make with it! I can’t wait to see how you use it. 😀 I probably will never buy one; I can’t justify the cost, but dang, I’m jealous of yours. Haha!

    • July 31, 2010 2:50 pm

      Hey Kaz!

      Hubby and I actually made the walnut cashew butter ourselves in our Cuisinart Food Processor. Super easy and since both of those nuts are more oily than almonds, it processes very fast! The VitaMix was a splurge for me, once I saw they were onsale. Also, I really needed to get one if I wanted to be able to sell it through my OpenSky store 🙂 Big chunk of change, but a 7 year warranty and a super versatile appliance!

      ~Alyssa

  2. July 31, 2010 11:50 am

    Vitamix!! Oh yeah! Congrats.
    Sadly, the Vitamix fairies have not visited my house yet, and they probably won’t for a long time 😦
    But, nearly everything I make doesn’t necessarily REQUIRE a Vitamix….BUT, it sure would make things easier and more fun 🙂
    Oh yeah, I don’t know how you feel about this, but did you know that they have plans underway to have “the greenest ski resort in the country, which will also be off the grid” on Pikes Peak by 2012.?
    I think it’s kind of exciting. It would be off hwy 67, 10 miles north of Cripple Creek.

    • July 31, 2010 2:51 pm

      Heather,

      So true on the VitaMix. Not completely necessary, but makes things much more fun and simple!! Protein Ice Creams are much better with the VitaMix though…I can speak from using the other appliances first!

      That would be super cool if they did build that resort!! I haven’t heard anything of it! We should still be here in 2012 🙂

      ~Alyssa

      • July 31, 2010 3:00 pm

        I would love if they did, because if/when we move back it would be in the woodland park/divide area and i think it would be totally fun to work at a resort!

  3. July 31, 2010 9:31 pm

    Congrats on getting a Vitamix.Your life will never been the same 😉 I hope you have a great weekend!

"Musings" Welcome!

