Skip to content

My Daily Eats :-)

July 30, 2010

Today was a lovely day!  It really started out yucky though, check out these clouds!!

Yucky!  So I decided I needed something delicious and warm to brighten up my day 🙂  How about some…PUMPKIN PIE OATS!  Check out this beautiful mess 🙂

These were delectable!  Really got me ready for a tough workout at the gym.  Here is the breakdown of the ingredients:

Pumpkin Pie Oats

– 1/4 cup McCann’s Irish Oats (I’ve been told these are naturally GF, but if you are super sensitive, you may want to go with a marked certified brand)

– 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

– 1/4 cup pumpkin

– 1 tsp vanilla

– 1 tsp cinnamon

– 1 tsp nutmeg

– 2 Tbsp golden raisins

– 1/2 smashed banana

Method:  I cooked this all together over the stove top for about 5 minutes until the oats thickened to the consistency I desired. I topped my oats with peach, banana, almond butter and some homemade peach jam.  Sooo good!

An almond milk latte rounded out this delicious hearty breakfast!  Delish 🙂

Off to the gym I went!  I decided to walk at an incline to help “take it easy” on my foot.  I walked at an incline of 15% at level 3.7 for 32 minutes and finished just in time to make it to BodyPump!  I am seriously loving this class 🙂 All in all, I burned about 730 calories…not too bad for an “easy” day!  Spent about 30 minutes at the pool and then met Hubby to pick up some groceries at Costco!

After Costco, I was starved!!! Lunch was a mishmash of leftovers: Chickpea Tagine, Cuban Pork, and roasted veggies 🙂 In my homemade bowl!!!

Accompanied by another GM 🙂

Shortly followed by a mid-afternoon snack…can you tell what it is??

It is a fresh fig, one half schmeared with almond butter and a date filled with almond butter. Wanna talk decadence?? Give this puppy a try!!  Delish! The figs were alright…my first time having fresh figs…not quite sure what they should taste like 🙂

Hubby and I went to see Inception this afternoon!!  Anyone seen it?? I thought it was pretty trippy 😉  What has been the best flick you have seen lately??

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2010 8:58 pm

    All the eats look excellent!
    As far as movies…..I really haven’t seen anything praiseworthy in a very long time-they’re either too predictable,formulated,have gratuitous swearing and/or nudity.
    I think the “newest” decent movie I’ve seen is “Evan Almighty”.

  2. July 31, 2010 12:43 am

    I just saw Inception last week! I loved it! I love movies that make you think, and kind of leave you scratching your head at the end. The last movie I saw before Inception was Eclipse — and lets just say that movie is super straightforward and didn’t involve many brainwaves! 🙂

    • July 31, 2010 5:07 am

      Holly,

      Agreed! Inception and Eclipse are VERY different movies 🙂 Both enjoyable though, but on different levels.

      ~Alyssa

  3. July 31, 2010 12:44 am

    Your eats look DELICIOUS!!
    My fave workout on the treadmill is at 15 % incline and 3.5 to 4.0 mph! Love the challenge 🙂

    • July 31, 2010 5:08 am

      Heather,

      I love power walking at an incline every couple of days. I really feel it in my back! Crazy good workout 🙂

      ~Alyssa

  4. July 31, 2010 3:09 am

    Pumpkin oats wow sounds delicious. Sounds great for a fall meal!! YUM

    I keep hearing about inception, I really need to go and see it!

  5. July 31, 2010 5:38 am

    I love dates with almond butter. They taste just like candy, don’t they? So decadent but so good for you. 😀

    The best movie I saw recently was The Fugitive. I know; an oldie, but it was my first time seeing it, and I loved it. =)

    I want to give McCann’s a try. I suffered from, ahem, malabsorbtion from the oats I used to eat, but I think they might have been contaminated. I love my kasha, but oats are so convenient. I’d be so happy to have them back in my life.

    • July 31, 2010 2:47 pm

      Kaz,

      The movie the Fugitive is one of my all time favs!! Great pick! If McCann’s oats don’t work for you, I also use Bob’s Red Mill GF Oats and they are pretty affordable 🙂 Also, certified GF!

      ~Alyssa

"Musings" Welcome!

