Skip to content

Wrong Season, Right Flavor!!

July 19, 2010

So, I absolutely love summer, but I have to admit that Autumn is one of my favorite seasons.  For breakfast this morning, I wanted to make something delicious and glorious!!  I picked the wrong season, but definitely the right flavor for what my tummy was craving!!

PUMPKIN PIE WAFFLES!!!!!

This recipe was super easy and super yummy!! Check it out:

Gluten Free Pumpkin Pie Waffles

– 2 cups Kinnickinik’s Pancake Mix

– 1/4 cup McCann’s Quick Cooking Irish Oats (I’ve been told these are naturally GF, this is a test for me, if you are very sensitive, use certified GF oats!!!)

– 1 egg

– 1/3 cup pureed pumpkin (I used this instead of oil)

– 1/4 cup shredded coconut

– 1 tsp vanilla

– 1 tsp cinnamon

– 1 tsp nutmeg

Method: Blend wet ingredients and then add in your dry ingredients.   Spray your waffle iron with Pam or grease it up slightly to ensure your waffles don’t stick!  Pour in batter and cook!!  Oh heck yes these waffles are amazing!

This is my lovely creation 🙂  I had a heck of a time topping it!

I topped mine with 1/2 a banana, 1/2 a fresh peach, a handful of blueberries, grapes and tuscan melon, a tablespoon of almond butter, a dollop of TruWhip, and a drizzle of Grade B Maple Syrup.   Gaaahhhh!!!

If you aren’t drooling right this instant, you must not be looking closely enough!!! I can guarantee you will love these waffles, so give ’em a whirl!

My workout today was pretty substantial as well 🙂 I did 6 miles in 45 minutes and followed up with another 3 miles at my group fitness session. Feel pretty good for clocking in 9 miles! My Garmin watch battery died and I forgot to charge it, so I was unable to get my calorie count or avg HR 😦 I must charge it tonight!!

Also, I know I’m not overweight, but I am unhappy with my current weight…about 127 lbs. I prefer to be down near the 123-124 range, so I will be tracking my meals and calories to the tee for the next couple of weeks. I will be posting a little bit of that to keep me vigiliant as well. I’m counting on you all to keep me in line!!

What is your favorite season?? What is your favorite seasonal food?!? What is your favorite “happy” weight?!?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2010 11:39 pm

    Yeah, those waffles made me drool!! Wow–that’s all I can say 🙂

  2. July 19, 2010 11:52 pm

    Livingfree,

    They were delicious 🙂 Drool on!!

    ~Alyssa

  3. July 20, 2010 1:15 am

    Gosh, I wish I had a waffle iron. It’s safe to say that I officially have waffle-envy. 😀

    I’m in the same boat as you right now. A very stressful month has resulted in 3-4 pounds of weight gain, and it was making me more unhappy than I want to admit. I’ve never tried to lose weight the “healthy” way before, so I gave up my scale to my friend and I’m trying to lose it without being obsessive — I’m trying to eat a bit cleaner and minimize my processed foods and late night snackage. (I know that it sounds silly, but that’s how I gained the weight: late night snacking and too many sweets and not enough real food. I hope by doing the reverse, I can get back to my “happy” weight.)

    Good luck with you goals! Of course you can do it, and I’m rooting for you! =)

    • July 20, 2010 2:25 am

      Kaz,

      Maybe I will host a waffle iron giveaway and rig it so you win 😉 That is a good idea…maybe I will have to do that!!

      Appreciate the kind words. Isn’t it strange how that little bit of extra “stuff” can make such an emotional impact on us?? I feel like I can’t run enough to make it go away!! I have been deviating from my multiple uber small meals though…think it has been slowing my metabolism 😦 So I’ve been measuring out my meals to help me get over my “I’m gonna starve!!” mentality 🙂

      Good luck to you as well!! And I can tell that your meals have definitely been clean!! You’re rockin’ it girly!!

      ~Alyssa

  4. July 20, 2010 1:15 am

    WOW, these look amazing! I could pumpkin all year round ; )

    • July 20, 2010 2:27 am

      Pure2Raw Twins,

      I totally agree! It is one of those “seasonal” favorites that never goes out of style! Now if only the grocery stores kept it stocked as such! Thanks for the comment!!

      ~Alyssa

  5. July 20, 2010 2:35 am

    Great waffles!

  6. July 20, 2010 2:52 pm

    OH.MY.GOD. those pancakes look incredible!! I have never wanted a waffle iron so badly until this moment, right here.

    The recipe looks great though – I’ll have to save it for the day I can finally go waffle crazy myself 😉

  7. July 20, 2010 4:14 pm

    wow those look glorious! I’m obsessed with pumpkin pie so I bet that’s delish!

  8. September 14, 2010 11:03 pm

    oh goodness!!! i am totallly drooling! how did you make that waffles look so luscious?!!!

    • September 14, 2010 11:14 pm

      Cupcake, i honestly don’t know how my camera did so well! Try the recipe and see if yours turn out well too!

Trackbacks

  1. A Grain-Free Bread? « Spoonful of Sugar Free

"Musings" Welcome!

