Skip to content

Dinner Does the Body Good!

July 3, 2010

I was a little experimental with this dinner, so I would recommend that you take this on and modify as needed.  But it is completely gluten free and ready for your own personal adaptation!

Dinner consisted of pre-rolled polenta, tofu, and spinach and kale.  Just by describing those few ingredients, you should see that this dinner has potential!  I would recommend beefing up the kale, and sauteeing the tofu in toasted sesame oil (I am convinced that these two were made for each other in heaven!)

First, I prepped the polenta:

Ingredients:

– 1 pre-made polenta round

– olive oil

– 1 cup cherry tomatoes

– 1 tbsp garlic, chopped

– 2 tbsp Trader Joe’s tapenade

– Goat Cheese

Method:

Chop up the polenta into bite sized pieces.  Place them on a foil-lined cookie sheet greased with PAM spray or olive oil. Bake at 425 degrees for 8 minutes, pull out, flip, and put back in for another 5 minutes.  Meanwhile, slice the cherry tomatoes in half, longwise, and sautee in olive oil in a small sauce pan.  Once the tomatoes have reduced, add garlic and TJ’s tapenade.  Stir to combine and let reduce for another minute.  Remove from heat and reserve. Place tomato mixture into a heat proof bowl, top with browned polenta and goat cheese.  Put mixture into the oven at 425 degrees for 3 minutes to brown the cheese.  Eat and enjoy!

The polenta was absolutely delish!

Next was the tofu:

Ingredients:

– Firm Tofu

– Olive Oil

Method:

Heat up your saucepan and add your olive oil. In the meanwhile, slice your tofu in 1/2 inch slices.  Next use 2 plates and paper towels to press out as much water as possible.  Once hot, add your tofu to the sautee pan.  After 2 minutes, flip your tofu. Once both sides are browned, remove from heat…done!  If you use the toasted sesame oil, it adds much more flavor…I recommend this versus olive oil 🙂

Sauteed Spinach and Kale

Ingredients:

– 1 cup spinach

– 1 cup kale

– 1/2 cup raisins

– 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

– 1 tbsp olive oil

Method:

For this, I would recommend honey as an addition. It is extremely “vinegar-y” as is :-).  First add your olive oil to a hot sautee pan. Next, add your spinach and kale to the pan. Once the mix is wilted, add in the raisins.  This will let them get plump and juicy!  Lastly, add your apple cider vinegar, and let the mixture reduce.  Finally, remove the mix from the heat and enjoy!

Hope you all had a great Thursday!  Hubby and I have today off of work, so I am headed to Denver to meet with a Mona Vie Consultant. Ever heard of it!? So excited to see what the company is all about!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2010 2:50 am

    Looks good, I love polenta. I am starting my gluten-free trial tomorrow to see if it will help my fibromyalgia like no dairy has. I will remember this 🙂

    What restaurants in Colorado would you recommend that have a good gluten-free menu? Just curious 🙂

    • July 3, 2010 3:56 pm

      Peacebeme,

      Oh boy, do I know some GF places around here!! You definitely asked the right person 🙂

      Here are some of the restaurants that I know for sure have GF menus…makes ordering easy:

      -PF Chang’s
      -Pei Wei
      -Salsa Brava
      -Sonterra Grill
      -Outback Steakhouse

      Lots of places can make GF options for you easily though. Here are some great places that have GF products as well:

      – Cere’s Kitchen (GF, nut free, dairy free)
      – Great Harvest Bread Co. (GF days are Tues/Thurs)
      – Almost all Indian Food (minus the Naan :-()
      – Most Thai Curries and Pad Thai (made from rice noodles)
      – Sushi (to be safe, I stick with Nigiri, imitation crab is made from Pollock and is NOT GF)
      – Panera Bread (almost all salads are GF and their Vegetarian Black Bean soup is GF)

      I could go on for days 🙂 Good luck with the diet!! I hope it helps, I know that fibromyalgia can be extremely painful and frustrating. You’re in my thoughts 🙂

      ~Alyssa

  2. July 4, 2010 8:12 pm

    Thank you! This will definitely be helpful for me. I am officially jumping into this today…got lots of supplies at the store. 🙂

    • July 5, 2010 3:25 am

      Good for you! Good luck! Let me know if you need any other tidbits of info 🙂

      ~Alyssa

"Musings" Welcome!

