Skip to content

Decline, Recline, or INCLINE!!!

June 21, 2010

Today was one of those days that you wish would last forever!  Where oh where do I begin???

I woke up today without my alarm at 7:45 (can’t believe I slept that late!!), although I went to be at midnight…

I had this phenomenal idea for pancakes this morning (super weird that HEAB had the same idea!) inspired by Anne Burrell’s Meyer Lemon Ricotta Pancakes…LEMON FIG GOAT CHEESE PROTEIN PANCAKES!!  Here is the recipe that I crafted while sleeping 🙂 (I love creating magnificent recipes in my sleep!)

½ cup Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Baking Flour mix

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 scoop vanilla protein powder

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 ½ tsp agave nectar

½ cup almond meal

¼ cup almond milk

1 tsp flax meal

3 egg whites

1 whole egg

1 tsp fresh lemon juice

1 oz goat cheese with figs

Zest of one lemonAfter I added all the ingredients to the food processor, I blended!

Onto the griddle this lovely concoction went!And the final product…Then I topped my pancakes with Artisana’s Coconut Butter, 1/3 banana, homemade GF granola, and some of my berry syrup (frozen berries + splash of maple syrup). Here is the finished product!

After that AMAZING breakfast, I packed up all my stuff and headed up into Manitou to tackle the Incline! What a beautiful day for the Ultimate Stairmaster workout! Above is the view from the bottom of the Incline…daunting…

It took me about 45 minutes to climb the beast, but I had to stop several times for fear of passing out! Does anyone else get lightheaded doing stair climbing activities?

Here I am pausing to take a breather and a picture halfway up!And, alas, the top!

Then after running down the Barr Trail, I treated myself to lunch at Adam’s Mountain Cafe. Delicious! I sat at the Community Table and loved meeting new people. I ordered the GF Vegetarian Burrito with Vegetarian Green Chili. Yum!I have lots more to share, but it is getting late, so here is a preview of what you have to look forward to:

-Black Bean Flourless Brownies Recipe

-La-Loo’s Goat Milk Ice Cream Product Review

-Pumpkin Sweet Potato Curry Recipe

-Homemade Kombucha Recipes and Tips

Here is a quick picture of tonight’s dessert 🙂

More to come tomorrow!! Sweet dreams everyone 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2010 1:52 pm

    I concur! Looks like a perfect day to me! Wow- I would love a hike like that! I have not had the pleasure to do something like that!

    Amazing looking pancakes!

  2. June 21, 2010 2:10 pm

    Melissa,

    It was absolutely gorgeous! If you are ever in CO Springs, you should definitely check out this hike! Manitou is known for it’s beautiful scenery, vegan/vegetarian/earth conscious foods, and of course the Incline!

    If you make the pancakes, let me know how they turned out for you! I got the goat cheese at Costco…I think it is seasonal, fig and goat cheese. It is addictively good 🙂

    ~Alyssa

Trackbacks

  1. Long Weekend Love Affair « Gluten Free Muse
  2. Banana Blueberry Cheesecake Protein Ice Cream :-) « Gluten Free Muse

"Musings" Welcome!

